Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2016, 10:00 AM   #1
mike42
Senior Member
 
mike42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gaylord, Michigan
Posts: 1,390
Default '40 Sedan Tach Problem

Guys.....

A couple years ago I bought a small 6V Westach Tach for my '40. For 2 years no problem and I use it all the time when shifting, etc. I normally idle at approx. 600 rpm

This year....I started up after Winter....the tach at idle is now way below "0" and at 55 mph it shows 1,000 rpm. Normally it would be 2,000 rpm.

So is it a....loose wire ....bad tach.....?

Thx and I appreciate any suggestions.

Mike
mike42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:32 AM   #2
dixiedelux
Member
 
dixiedelux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Columbia, KY
Posts: 89
Default Re: '40 Sedan Tach Problem

I'll be watching this post, Mike. I have a 6 volt tach that is no longer working properly.
dixiedelux is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-22-2016, 12:07 PM   #3
mike42
Senior Member
 
mike42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gaylord, Michigan
Posts: 1,390
Default Re: '40 Sedan Tach Problem

Hmmmmm.....what make is yours ?
mike42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 02:08 PM   #4
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,282
Default Re: '40 Sedan Tach Problem

does the tach have a provision to select different # of cylinders---if it does try moving the switch several times
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 02:19 PM   #5
flathead 53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: central nj
Posts: 593
Default Re: '40 Sedan Tach Problem

the 6 volt tach from west tach will not work correctly especially at higher RPMs if it is not getting a full 6 volts ,resistor under dash cuts voltage to 4 volts .
flathead 53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 02:57 PM   #6
TJ
Senior Member
 
TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Napa,California
Posts: 4,650
Default Re: '40 Sedan Tach Problem

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Check to make sure it has a GOOD ground.
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 03:42 AM   #7
mike42
Senior Member
 
mike42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gaylord, Michigan
Posts: 1,390
Default Re: '40 Sedan Tach Problem

Kurt....no way to adjust. It's a small 2" model.

Flathead......did you replace the resistor ?

TJ....I checked the ground and it's good.

Damn...worked great for 2 years !!

Thx guys.....Mike
mike42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.