Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2019, 05:25 PM   #1
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Thermostat

I purchased these thermostats under the impression that they was for a 40 Ford. They will not fit inside the hoses and hang over the castings of the outlet of the head. Any idea what year they actually fit. Bought them from a well known vendor.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 579AD197-7DC7-4FAC-948D-50256C057F1C.jpg (67.4 KB, 73 views)
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 05:26 PM   #2
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

These fit , testing them now
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (48.9 KB, 80 views)
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-28-2019, 09:57 AM   #3
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

My original t stats tested as good.

Anyone have any information as to application for the one in the first photo. I plan to sell them but would like to know what they actually fit.
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 11:08 AM   #4
corvette8n
Senior Member
 
corvette8n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 36 miles north of Albany NY
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Thermostat

Maybe a 49-53 8BA block.
corvette8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 03:03 PM   #5
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,715
Default Re: Thermostat

Is there any numbers or markings on them? Unless you find out they are for something extremely rare, I don't think they would bring much. Typical swap meet $1 box.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 05:52 PM   #6
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubman View Post
Is there any numbers or markings on them? Unless you find out they are for something extremely rare, I don't think they would bring much. Typical swap meet $1 box.
All I can find on them is Dole Valve Co 180 degree

Looks like Iíve got a pair of $30.00 paper weights
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 953B80DA-DEEF-4EF8-868C-82CC20622520.jpg (58.4 KB, 13 views)
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 09:57 PM   #7
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 2,066
Default Re: Thermostat

actually, if they only slightly over hang the casting on the head, that would be a good thing to keep them in place. i use the modern subaru stats and wire them in place thru holes i drill
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 10:05 PM   #8
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

They actually over hang a 1/8Ē. They are 1/4Ē larger in diameter than what I removed
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 10:06 PM   #9
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

Considering grinding a 1/8Ē off the outside edge.
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 10:12 PM   #10
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 5,397
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by cas3 View Post
actually, if they only slightly over hang the casting on the head, that would be a good thing to keep them in place. i use the modern subaru stats and wire them in place thru holes i drill

thinking about ordering these and too lazy to look it up on a search. Can I ask about parts numbers to order.


.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 09:12 AM   #11
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,750
Default Re: Thermostat

The Subaru Justy is what is commonly referenced, but the same thermostates are used in several different makes, models and years. The normal reference you will see is Subaru Justy 1990.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Thermostates.jpg (16.0 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg Thermostates2.jpg (16.8 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Thermo 1.JPG (21.3 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg Thermo 2.JPG (22.6 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg Thermo 3.JPG (21.8 KB, 25 views)
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 09:35 AM   #12
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 5,715
Default Re: Thermostat

Just a note. I would advise against "cutting down" a thermostat that is too large just to be able to use it to save a few bucks. Not only would it be very difficult to make a consistent, clean cut with out damaging the unit, but I would imagine that thermostats, like everything else, are designed to specific criteria, such as the ration of opening area to total area and stuff like that.

Perhaps if it were absolutely impossible to find thermostats for a certain engine, it might be worth a try, but if properly fitting and operating thermostats are available, doing it would be false economy.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 09:43 AM   #13
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubman View Post
Just a note. I would advise against "cutting down" a thermostat that is too large just to be able to use it to save a few bucks. Not only would it be very difficult to make a consistent, clean cut with out damaging the unit, but I would imagine that thermostats, like everything else, are designed to specific criteria, such as the ration of opening area to total area and stuff like that.

Perhaps if it were absolutely impossible to find thermostats for a certain engine, it might be worth a try, but if properly fitting and operating thermostats are available, doing it would be false economy.

I think Iíll use my old thermostats, they open as the should when tested in a pan of boiling water.
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 05:30 PM   #14
42merc
Senior Member
 
42merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Buchanan, MI
Posts: 581
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by tubman View Post
Just a note. I would advise against "cutting down" a thermostat that is too large just to be able to use it to save a few bucks. Not only would it be very difficult to make a consistent, clean cut with out damaging the unit, but I would imagine that thermostats, like everything else, are designed to specific criteria, such as the ration of opening area to total area and stuff like that.

Perhaps if it were absolutely impossible to find thermostats for a certain engine, it might be worth a try, but if properly fitting and operating thermostats are available, doing it would be false economy.
I used 8BA stats in my 59A.
Use aviation snips to trim an 1/8" all around, works for me, after all it's just a thermostat not a rocket ship.
42merc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 06:04 PM   #15
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by 42merc View Post
I used 8BA stats in my 59A.
Use aviation snips to trim an 1/8" all around, works for me, after all it's just a thermostat not a rocket ship.
Iím think the same, the area outside the defined ring is all that would need to be removed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 404778E1-1B5B-439A-9782-DCB80D50C5D9.jpg (56.6 KB, 12 views)
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 06:06 PM   #16
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by 42merc View Post
I used 8BA stats in my 59A.
Use aviation snips to trim an 1/8" all around, works for me, after all it's just a thermostat not a rocket ship.
So 8ba thermostats are larger diameter than 59a ?
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 06:36 PM   #17
Branded
Senior Member
 
Branded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Yorkville Indiana
Posts: 296
Default Re: Thermostat

Finally found the issue, what I have are for 49-53 V8. These was sold to me as being for 37-48.


Here’s what I have, thermostat Dole dv-fh

https://www.ebay.com/itm/NOS-Dole-DV...MAAOSwOdpX0HGn

Last edited by Branded; 08-30-2019 at 06:54 PM.
Branded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 07:48 PM   #18
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,750
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Branded View Post
So 8ba thermostats are larger diameter than 59a ?
Yes, they do not go into the hose like the earlier ones have to. They locate into a metal machined lip.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2019, 09:45 PM   #19
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 5,397
Default Re: Thermostat

Well to be frank surly... and don't call me shirley.

They need to open at temp.

Keeping them in place have been covered. Easy to figure out anyway. Temps are very covered here.


.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 04:15 PM   #20
oldford2
Senior Member
 
oldford2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pittsfield, MA
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: Thermostat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Branded View Post
I think Iíll use my old thermostats, they open as the should when tested in a pan of boiling water.
I think all thermostats will open in a pan of boiling water. Need to put in a thermometer to see when they actually open.
John
oldford2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.