Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2017, 07:32 AM   #1
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 346
Default 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

can this be done without problems? i'v heard the term "short crank" i'm trying to install a crab distributor on my 38-40 engine. thank you.
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 08:23 AM   #2
Don
Senior Member
 
Don's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

Think they make a adapter to do this plus you need the button to extend the cam to new dist
__________________
DON P
Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-18-2017, 08:43 AM   #3
Charlie ny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,480
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

fn,
If your motor has the correct cam and your wish is to go to the '42 up 2 bolt crab the cleanest way is to use the Speedway adapter #910-3241. This is a high quality
piece including gaskets and cap screws. It maybe adds 1/2" if that to the depth vs
going to the front cover swap.
The unintended consequence with the front cover swap is the oil pan should really be dropped to do it right with the risk of oil leaks..........been there !
Charlie ny
Charlie ny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 08:49 AM   #4
Charlie ny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,480
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

fn #2,
If all is correct on your motor now the button is not required.....the crab dis-
tributor's extra depth from the drive tang to the mounting face is accounted for in the
thickness of the 910-3241 adapter.
Charlie ny
Charlie ny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 11:30 AM   #5
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 2,327
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

does this mean you are ready for the test run?
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 11:31 AM   #6
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,227
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie ny View Post
fn,
If your motor has the correct cam and your wish is to go to the '42 up 2 bolt crab the cleanest way is to use the Speedway adapter #910-3241. This is a high quality
piece including gaskets and cap screws. It maybe adds 1/2" if that to the depth vs
going to the front cover swap.
The unintended consequence with the front cover swap is the oil pan should really be dropped to do it right with the risk of oil leaks..........been there !
Charlie ny
Charlie, With all due respect, the pan and cover rope seal is split at the intersection of the two. A new rope seal will be required for the front cover exchange, but the pan's rope seal remains undisturbed. I may have just been lucky, but my first rodeo I got it right with no leak.
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 12:02 PM   #7
deuce_roadster
Senior Member
 
deuce_roadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Shelton, WA
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

I guess I was lucky too. Just did that recently on the engine in my 32 5w. No leaks.
deuce_roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 05:15 PM   #8
ford nut
Senior Member
 
ford nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: rosemead ca.
Posts: 346
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

[QUOTE=cas3;1567733]does this mean you are ready for the test run?[/QUOTE
I wish! just lineing up part here. i'll probably make some false starts, but i'm just getting stuff together. thank you people who answered. i'm not getting notified when there's a reply, anyone know why?
ford nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 06:09 PM   #9
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 2,327
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

on the hamb you get a notice, but not here. when you get your crab dizzy, good points are at napa, and search for the ford timing method . van pelts site has it. for a newbe i'd suggest you send it to bubba. it comes back quick, rebuilt, timed on a machine and ready to bolt on.
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 06:14 PM   #10
ford38v8
Senior Member
 
ford38v8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,227
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

At the top of the page, go to User CP on the black toolbar.
Click on Edit Options under Control Panel.
Then, under Messaging and Notification, What you need is in the box titled: Default Thread Subscription Mode.
Open the box and choose your email notifications from:
None;
Instant;
Daily;
Weekly.
__________________
Alan
ford38v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 06:34 PM   #11
cas3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sw minnesota
Posts: 2,327
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

well i'll be danged!
cas3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 07:03 PM   #12
RalphM
Senior Member
 
RalphM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 2,504
Default Re: 3 bolt to 2 bolt front cover change?

Me too! I didn’t know you could do that.

I second Bubbas distributor service, I had a crab rebuilt by Jim a few years back, waiting for the right engine. I just picked up a 59 AB and was trying to get it running with the original crab dist on it, new plugs, wires, no spark. Cleaned and set the points, new condenser, no spark.
Switched in the fresh one from Bubba and it fired off instantly!
RalphM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.