Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2020, 05:26 PM   #1
zuburg
Senior Member
 
zuburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 201
Default Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Another wiring question. The oil pressure sending unit has a strange connection, just a round brass piece with a groove. I assume I should just strip a few inches of insulation and wind the wire around in the groove? Doesnít seem like a very good way to have a proper connection?

Also, is 16 or 18 gauge the right size for this wire?

What gauge should be used for the wire from the distributor to the coil?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A10AAD67-BEF1-43AD-97AC-C39EBAC79413.jpg (22.0 KB, 1 views)
zuburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 06:46 PM   #2
KULTULZ
Senior Member
 
KULTULZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: W(BY GOD)V
Posts: 2,871
Post Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

The sender takes a snap-on clip. Find at NAPA.

16GA for the DIST wire.
__________________
THE MOBS' GREATEST HITS
Performed By Frank Sinatra

--------------------------------------
MEL DIVISION - 1958-1960

MERCURY - EDSEL - LINCOLN
KULTULZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-24-2020, 07:34 PM   #3
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Two pictures of a slip-on connector... the ones I found on in my '55 and '57 are the same.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg oil pressure switch.jpg (46.6 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg oil pressure switch, close up.jpg (59.8 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by dmsfrr; 11-24-2020 at 09:44 PM.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 07:59 PM   #4
Daves55Sedan
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Actually, the factory made a "special" type of push-on terminal for the oil sending unit. It looks like an ordinary push-on terminal, except that the oil sender terminal has a rounded out end close to the wire connection where you slip that end over the round oil sender contact, then pull the terminal down toward the flat part of the terminal until it snaps in place over the round brass contact. It is now "captured".
The reproduced wire-harnesses I have seen, use an exact reproduction of the factory terminal and it is the only one like it in the whole harness.
YOU CAN USE a standard push-on terminal at the end of the white/red sender wire, but it may be necessary to modify the capture portions of the clip a little bit using a hammer, vice and miniature straight-blade screwdriver, BUT you must be real careful not to bugger up the capture feature of the terminal such that it easily falls off the sender. Make modifications to a loose terminal and test-fit it onto the sending unit prior to installing the terminal on the wire to make sure it will stay on snug.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 08:11 PM   #5
Daves55Sedan
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

The original wiring for control & instrument circuits on cars with 12-volt system is 16 ga. Wiring for main power supply, induction motors, sealed beam lamps and resistance circuits may require larger size wiring depending upon current draw of the device or lamp.
Almost all your under-dash wiring including all dash bulbs, guages and courtesy lights is 16 ga. Exceptions: heater motor power leads, Headlight power leads; Incoming power lead to headlight switch, Cigar lighter, clock and radio.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 08:34 PM   #6
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
The oil sender wire is a separate item and can be purchased from the parts suppliers with the correct end.
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 09:16 PM   #7
zuburg
Senior Member
 
zuburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 201
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Thanks, I bought the wire and couldn’t see how it attached, and Mac’s didn’t know either.
zuburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 08:25 AM   #8
KULTULZ
Senior Member
 
KULTULZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: W(BY GOD)V
Posts: 2,871
Post Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
... and Macís didnít know either

Now why does that not surprise me ...
__________________
THE MOBS' GREATEST HITS
Performed By Frank Sinatra

--------------------------------------
MEL DIVISION - 1958-1960

MERCURY - EDSEL - LINCOLN
KULTULZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 11:48 AM   #9
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by zuburg View Post
... and Mac’s didn’t know either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KULTULZ View Post
Now why does that not surprise me ...
This is exactly why I prefer to buy '55/'57 T-Bird parts from places like Hills, Casco or Prestige.
They have in-house repair and restoration shops where they use the parts they sell.
You can call their Tech folks and speak directly with a person who already knows what you're talking about and has actually installed or repaired those parts before.
If the parts might cost a tiny bit more than a low budget outfit it's worth it for the valuable information they willingly share.
.

Last edited by dmsfrr; 11-25-2020 at 11:54 AM.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2020, 09:05 PM   #10
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

That's another reason why I don't buy from Mac's. No tech like CASCO and Hill's.



Quote:
Originally Posted by zuburg View Post
Thanks, I bought the wire and couldnít see how it attached, and Macís didnít know either.
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 04:56 PM   #11
Daves55Sedan
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Granite City, Illinois
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

If they sent you the right wire and associated terminal, you should be able to attach it by placing the back (half-rounded) portion of the terminal at a slant upon the sending unit and pull it into place until you feel it snap. Notice the small indented part at the clamp-end of the terminal. That dent places tension against the sending unit and terminal clamp.
The picture that dmsfrr shows is the right terminal. If the one you got doesn't look like that, you got the wrong one.
Daves55Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 07:48 PM   #12
Gene F
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 290
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2748 View Post
That's another reason why I don't buy from Mac's. No tech like CASCO and Hill's.
How is CASCO for repairs? I'm not too far from them, and sometimes I have less time, and more cash. Seems every time I try to hire something out though it's not right in some way....
Gene F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 09:12 PM   #13
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gene F View Post
How is CASCO for repairs? I'm not too far from them, and sometimes I have less time, and more cash. Seems every time I try to hire something out though it's not right in some way....
It depends on what repairs you're looking for. I'm pretty sure they send some parts out for repairs, brake boosters, steering boxes & pwr steering cylinders, etc. Call them and ask.
https://www.classictbird.com/

If they're near you, Hill's Automotive may be also... https://hillsresto.com/

I'm too far from either of them for repairs but would if I were closer. .
.

Last edited by dmsfrr; 12-11-2020 at 11:23 AM.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:33 AM   #14
bobss396
Senior Member
 
bobss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsfrr View Post
Two pictures of a slip-on connector... the ones I found on in my '55 and '57 are the same.
This is the female part of a spade connector, which will work just fine. Just about any terminal assortment will have them.
bobss396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:34 AM   #15
bobss396
Senior Member
 
bobss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2748 View Post
That's another reason why I don't buy from Mac's. No tech like CASCO and Hill's.
I avoid puppy-mill suppliers like Mac's too. With the thousands I've spent elsewhere, never a dime to them.
bobss396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 11:52 AM   #16
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,657
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobss396 View Post
This is the female part of a spade connector, which will work just fine. Just about any terminal assortment will have them.
The oil pressure switch connector, on the right in this photo, is a slightly different shape than a generic spade connector, which could fairly easily be made to work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20201211_094112.jpg (31.9 KB, 18 views)
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 05:42 PM   #17
Gene F
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 290
Default Re: Connecting wire to oil pressure sending unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsfrr View Post
It depends on what repairs you're looking for. I'm pretty sure they send some parts out for repairs, brake boosters, steering boxes & pwr steering cylinders, etc. Call them and ask.
https://www.classictbird.com/

If they're near you, Hill's Automotive may be also... https://hillsresto.com/

I'm too far from either of them for repairs but would if I were closer. .
.
I'm about an hour from CASCO, and about 2 hours from Hills. Hills is fine, AS LONG AS MARVIN is NOT AWAY IN FLORIDA. If you know what I mean...

I'm OK with a shop sending assembles out to specialists. In fact, in most cases I think you fair better that way.
Gene F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.