Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-26-2022, 01:35 PM   #1
kbrandt

Default Flywheel alignment

I'm relatively new to Model A's. I bought my '30 Tudor about five years ago. I drove it around for about six months before it lost a timing gear. In the course of repairing that, one of the local experts found cracks in the block in bad places so I gave up on that engine.

I replaced it with an engine I bought off of Craigs list. Supposedly the seller had had it rebuilt 10+ years ago as the spare for his coupe. He was getting out of the hobby and selling the car too. I don't have 100% confidence in the engine, but haven't seen anything to indicate he wasn't telling the truth.

After dragging my feet for years, I got the car running again last month. I've driven it around the neighborhood half a dozen times and it's doing okay. The one thing I've noticed is it shakes much more than the previous engine did.

After reading the Les Andrews book more thoroughly, I realized that I skipped aligning the flywheel. Opps...

So my question is what should I do next? Can I drive it without risking trashing the bearings? I'd kind of like to enjoy the car for a little while before taking it apart again.

As for fixing it, is it better to pull the engine again, or can I do it easily enough by pulling the transmission? Given the choice, I'd rather pull the transmission as that would give me a chance to clean it up and maybe change some seals and gaskets.
kbrandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 02:47 PM   #2
J Franklin

Default Re: Flywheel alignment