Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-04-2018, 02:40 PM   #1
vikx

Question 34 Ford Need Advice

Hello all from Washington State, newbie here.

I need some advice please. We have a 34 steel Ford Tudor with a new flathead, ported and polished, 3 twos. Has a rebuilt tranny, newer than 34; maybe 39? It has new wiring, 12 volt conversion, heater, hydraulic brakes, original running gear, relined gas tank, good upholstery. It's what I call a retro rod, redone in the mid 60s. I would say condition is very good. It's a nice car.

My partner is sick and can no longer work on it. I believe it is ready to run except for exhaust, battery and fuel. There is some minor wiring that needs to be done; mainly the engine fan. Wires are all in place.

We have offered it for sale locally but haven't advertised. Reaction has been mixed. My question is: Should we sell now as is, or spend more money to get it running? The work would have to be completed by a shop. I would guess 1000 for the mufflers alone. Needs tires of course. We were SO CLOSE...sigh.

I'm sure you all know we have a fortune in it. It was a true "garage" find in Seattle. We paid 18K for the car before all the work was done, plus the flathead by Dave Tatom in Mt. Vernon.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Any money will go toward my partner's senior care. Just not sure if it's worth spending more right now. Questions welcome, I'm not positive of all the details but will get you correct answers. Thank you very much. vikx

Here's a link to photos: https://34fordtudor.shutterfly.com/

Last edited by vikx; 07-04-2018 at 11:10 PM.
vikx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 03:20 PM   #2
cas3

Default Re: 34 Ford Need Advice