Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2015, 11:43 PM   #1
flatrod
Senior Member
 
flatrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 225
Default Load matic Dist

Can anyone tell me how a 56 dual vac loadmatic dist is supposed to work? Will it work with a 55 teapot carb?
flatrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 03:39 AM   #2
RCM
Senior Member
 
RCM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 374
Default Re: Load matic Dist

http://classicinlines.com/Loadomatic.asp
On the carb swap, others will advice better.
RCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-11-2015, 06:59 AM   #3
darrell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: p.e.i.
Posts: 875
Default Re: Load matic Dist

the 55 uses only 1 vac,line.you will need to change vacuum advance.
darrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 08:12 AM   #4
Jimz Bird
Member
 
Jimz Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Here is a good thread you might find useful.
http://fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=142689
Jimz Bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 10:17 AM   #5
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,676
Default Re: Load matic Dist

The '55, '56, '57 carburetors (& their vacuum ports) and the distributor vacuum advance cans are each year specific and not interchangeable.
But the distributor housings for '55 & '56 are effectively the same, you can change out the '56 vacuum advance can to a '55 style to match the '55 teapot carb.

Pictures below, the different vacuum advance units for: '55, '56, '57
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 55 vac can.JPG (29.3 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg 56 vac can #2.JPG (14.4 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg 57 dist copy.jpg (38.6 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by dmsfrr; 05-11-2015 at 01:17 PM.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 11:33 AM   #6
scicala
Senior Member
 
scicala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Detroit suburb, MI
Posts: 3,069
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Part of the calibration for the Load-O-Matic spark advance systems are the primary and secondary springs under the distributor cap. Not saying this is physically possibe, but if using a '56 distributor with a '55 teapot carb, I would use a '55 style vacuum diaphragm on the distributor, along with the '55 primary and secondary springs. Better yet, the entire '55 distributor.

Sal
scicala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 11:44 AM   #7
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,676
Default Re: Load matic Dist

I agree. Incomplete solutions are seldom as good in hindsight.
.
.

Last edited by dmsfrr; 05-11-2015 at 01:37 PM.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 12:30 PM   #8
Hot Rod Reverend
Senior Member
 
Hot Rod Reverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Loveland, Ohio
Posts: 822
Default Re: Load matic Dist

FWIW, I say ditch the loadamatic altogether and get yourself a 1957-64 Distributor. You will need new cap because they are different from 55/56 but all caps for 57-64 are the same. Also you will need to modify the Teapot Carb per Ted Eaton's specs on his website if you want vacuum advance. You could always plug the port on your carb though and just run the mechanical advance. Fuel mileage won't be as great however.

When I ditched the load-a-matic years ago my Y block woke up.
__________________
Loveland, Ohio
Visit hotrodreverend.com to view hundreds of pictures and videos of the build of the 1955 Ford Club Sedan!
Hot Rod Reverend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 12:43 PM   #9
scicala
Senior Member
 
scicala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Detroit suburb, MI
Posts: 3,069
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hot Rod Reverend View Post
FWIW, I say ditch the loadamatic altogether and get yourself a 1957-64 Distributor. You will need new cap because they are different from 55/56 but all caps for 57-64 are the same. Also you will need to modify the Teapot Carb per Ted Eaton's specs on his website if you want vacuum advance. You could always plug the port on your carb though and just run the mechanical advance. Fuel mileage won't be as great however.

When I ditched the load-a-matic years ago my Y block woke up.


Another good suggestion from Hot Rod reverend. The Load-O-Matic systems to me are a little slow responding and inconsistent. Too many things have to be just right. Even then, mediocre at best. Too me it's for people that are intent on keeping a car 100% original.

Sal
scicala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2015, 02:38 PM   #10
Herman Munster
Senior Member
 
Herman Munster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SW WA state.
Posts: 532
Default Re: Load matic Dist

While you're at it, ditch the manifold for a 57 "B" manifold and your carb options get way better.
__________________
1956 Ford Fairlane Town Sedan 292 V8 with Ford-o-Matic
Herman Munster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 01:12 AM   #11
flatrod
Senior Member
 
flatrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 225
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Thanks for all the good info. This is what we have, 56 TBird with a 55 carb and intake. It wasn't working with a later dist. I have a 56 dual vacuum Bird dist, put it in with the one side to the original 55 vacuum port and the other to a vacuum source at the front of the manifold, manifold vacuum. Looked to me the same as using a 56 carb. Still does not seem to work right. It may have a bad vacuum can on one side or the other. Its a friends car, when it comes back to me, I will test it, but I think he will go with a 57 dist and run it without the vacuum advance part.
flatrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 07:38 AM   #12
TedEaton
Senior Member
 
TedEaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 139
Default Re: Load matic Dist

If you go with the '57 and up distributor, then the Teapot can be modified to utilize the vacuum advance pod on that particular distributor. Here's the link to the instructions for that.
http://www.eatonbalancing.com/blog/2...-distributors/
TedEaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 03:35 PM   #13
mikhett
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jackson N.J
Posts: 194
Default Re: Load matic Dist

IM ditching mine got a 64 y-block dizzy a pertronix kit an a holley 600 cfm carb.
mikhett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 12:25 AM   #14
flatrod
Senior Member
 
flatrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 225
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Thanks Ted, it looks like that is the way we will be going.
flatrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 11:15 AM   #15
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,676
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatrod View Post
This is what we have, 56 TBird with a 55 carb and intake. It wasn't working with a later dist. I have a 56 dual vacuum Bird dist, put it in with the one side to the original 55 vacuum port and the other to a vacuum source at the front of the manifold, manifold vacuum. Looked to me the same as using a 56 carb. Still does not seem to work right. It may have a bad vacuum can on one side or the other. Its a friends car, when it comes back to me, I will test it, but I think he will go with a 57 dist and run it without the vacuum advance part.
If the '56 T-Bird (and the '56 T-Bird distributor) has a mechanical drive tachometer and the owner wants to keep that working, a replacement '57 dist will also need to be the tach drive version, and follow Ted's instructions to modify the '55 teapot vacuum port.

A '57 dist is the better one to have, especially if the owner is thinking of doing carb & intake manif upgrades in the future. Prepare to dig pretty deep in the wallet to buy one though. The one I copied the picture of (in comment #5 above) is on ebay for $795.
Mallory makes a mechanical advance (only) Y-Block distributor #3838701, that has a tach drive cable fitting..... $435 on Amazon.
https://www.google.com/search?q=mall...utf-8&oe=utf-8

Just as another option.... and for much less money, the '56 dist you have should be easy to re-work to match the '55 carb, it's mostly the same already.
The '57 tach drive dist I have was a real mess and needed to be totally rebuilt. I saw an ad in Hemmings for a fellow in Denver and had him fix it. (it cost less than half the price of the Mallory)
I can give you his phone number if you want it.
Or, here's a link to the 'Distributor servicing' ads in Hemmings.
http://www.hemmings.com/classifieds/...t=Distributors

.

Last edited by dmsfrr; 05-15-2015 at 08:27 AM.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 03:48 PM   #16
flatrod
Senior Member
 
flatrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 225
Default Re: Load matic Dist

All dist discussed are tach drive dist. I have a 55 and a 56, my friend has a 57 that was in his 56 when he got it. He was thinking more original look, but now has decided to use the tach drive 57 with Teds mods to his 55 carb for his 56 Bird..... confusing sometimes!!
flatrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 04:14 PM   #17
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Abq, NM
Posts: 2,676
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Ok, not that confusing.
I didn't know you already had a '57 T-Bird/tach drive dist. You're almost done then. (haha)
Good luck with it.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 03:46 AM   #18
RCM
Senior Member
 
RCM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 374
Default Re: Load matic Dist

Do post some pics or details of your work. I also run a loado and it would be cool to se another swap. Maybe someday I may grow enough courage..
Good luck
RCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.