Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2018, 07:05 PM   #1
Step-down
Senior Member
 
Step-down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hat City (Danbury CT)
Posts: 628
Default School me Ford Helmet coil

I did some horse trading for a 40' V8 . The Disturbutor (Helmet) was missing the coil. My buddy gave me a stock Ford one . He also told me that there a repop adaptor to be able to use a modern coil . My question is input power if I'm running 6 volt position ground on the Ford stock coil . Should I use a resistor before the coil.
Thanks again Ford Barn ...
__________________
"I can't cry as long as I know the Lord has risen "
Step-down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:09 PM   #2
deuce_roadster
Senior Member
 
deuce_roadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Shelton, WA
Posts: 3,236
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

That would depend on the coil, whether it is internally resisted or not if you use the modern coil. The original coil did have a resistor inline before the coil.
deuce_roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-12-2018, 07:17 PM   #3
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,131
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Step-down View Post
My question is input power if I'm running 6 volt position ground on the Ford stock coil . Should I use a resistor before the coil.
Thanks again Ford Barn ...
Yes, the stock coil requires a resistor, it is mounted on a panel under the dash along with the circuit breaker for the lighting. Original coils often need to be rebuilt because of their age. Not that expensive and can be turned around in a fairly short period of time. Need to check and see if the original circuit breaker/resistor panel is in place.

Last edited by JSeery; 11-12-2018 at 08:07 PM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:26 PM   #4
alanwoodieman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: upstate SC
Posts: 2,780
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

send the coil to skip haney in punta gorda and let him rebuild it for you-you won't be sorry!
alanwoodieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 08:03 PM   #5
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,131
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

The panel you are looking for should look something like this.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Fuse 01A-12250-breaker-resistor.jpg (89.4 KB, 31 views)
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 08:35 AM   #6
corvette8n
Senior Member
 
corvette8n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: 36 miles north of Albany NY
Posts: 2,525
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
My '41 came with a remote mounted coil conversion, I picked up a coil from a swap meet and sent to Skip Haney for a rebuild, it came back looking like new and it works great. My resistor setup is mounted under the dash.
corvette8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:25 AM   #7
JM 35 Sedan
Senior Member
 
JM 35 Sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Near Rising Sun, Maryland
Posts: 10,575
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

The only schooling I can offer is to tell you, and anyone else who cares to listen, that any original helmet distributor coil is suspect for working properly IMO. The quality of insulation used back in the day was no comparison to what's available today. The best thing you can do with an original, nos or good used, coil is to send it to Skip Haney for a rebuild, well worth the cost. I personally do not care for using a modern cylindrical coil mounted on top of the engine, and an adapter plate mounted on top of the distributor housing.
__________________
John

"Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than one with all the facts". Albert Einstein

Last edited by JM 35 Sedan; 11-13-2018 at 03:21 PM.
JM 35 Sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 01:08 PM   #8
uncle buck
Senior Member
 
uncle buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Snohomish,WA
Posts: 924
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

My advice is to make sure you confirm the coil given to you will bolt up to your distributor before you send it. There are 3 different mounting configurations that I am aware of. I'm going to take the advice here on coils. I just bought an original coil to send to Skip for my 32 pickup. Also, if anybody here wants a new one of those "ugly" coil conversion adapters for a 1932 - early 1936 3 screw coil distributor for cheap , there is one on ebay currently from the guy I bought my stock coil from with an opening bid of $1.00 and no bids. I think this is the 2nd or 3rd time it's been listed for the $1.00 opening bid. Search 1932 ford coil
uncle buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:32 AM   #9
Kahuna
Senior Member
 
Kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,617
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

As JM35 said, get an original coil (maybe from Skip) and use it. You'll be real happy
Kahuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 06:30 PM   #10
Step-down
Senior Member
 
Step-down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hat City (Danbury CT)
Posts: 628
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

Thanks for everyone’s help . I found a resistor and fuse box like J Seery posted I’m golden
__________________
"I can't cry as long as I know the Lord has risen "
Step-down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:45 PM   #11
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,131
Default Re: School me Ford Helmet coil

Great! The ¨fuse box¨ is a circuit breaker. The earlier years used a fuse, but it was changed to a CB. Only the lighting circuits were fused and the idea of the change was to provide a bit of a backup. When the CB opens it will close again when it cools and possibly restore the lights (depending on the source of the original overload). If a fuse blows, it is done!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.