Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2020, 09:04 AM   #1
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 245
Default Torque Tube Bolts

Still rebuilding the rear axle, and ran into a couple of questions yesterday when I disassembled the banjo and torque tube. 5 of the 6 bolts appear original, in that they have holes for safety wire and have a shoulder just below the bolt head. The 6th bolt had no hole and also had a lock washer.

My questions -
Were lockwashers used on these bolts ?

Do these bolts have the special thread pitch like the axle housing bolts do ?

Were these bolts plated or painted when new ?

Many thanks
Jim
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 02:33 PM   #2
Kevin in NJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South East NJ
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

No lock washers.

Like most of the chassis threading they are tight tolerance so they should have limited play.

Also no gasket. The tube is also the bearing stop for the pinion bearing shell.

Do not forget to use a flat file on the mating surfaces. Not hard, just to locate any high spots and bring them down level so the flanges can mount tight.
__________________
Cabriolet and Technical Hints
Kevin in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-07-2020, 08:38 PM   #3
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 245
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

So no gasket between the torque tube and banjo ? Why do gasket sets include one ??
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:55 PM   #4
Tom Endy
Senior Member
 
Tom Endy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,660
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conaway2 View Post
So no gasket between the torque tube and banjo ? Why do gasket sets include one ??
From what I have read Ford did not originally put a gasket there. However, it is a source of an oil leak, so a lot of people put one there. The Mitchell overdrive company provides one with their overdrive kit. All the suppliers carry them. I always put one there.

Tom Endy

Last edited by Tom Endy; 08-08-2020 at 12:13 AM.
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 12:11 AM   #5
Tom Endy
Senior Member
 
Tom Endy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,660
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Over the past 35 years while rebuilding rear axle assemblies I noticed that the safety wire applied to the six torque tube bolts was all kinds of ugly. None were ever found done like an aircraft application. I decided early on that when I finished up a rear axle assembly it was going to appear neat even it it was not according to Henry. Having acquired a good supply of original torque tube bolts, I use them such that each bolt is a trial to see that when properly torqued the safety wire hole is parallel to the flange. It takes more time, but when I am finished I think it looks better than when found. It has become my trade mark on all rear axle assemblies I overhaul.

Tom Endy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg torque tube banjo bolts.jpg (58.8 KB, 90 views)
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 09:43 AM   #6
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 245
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Tom - thanks for your comments. I like your approach to installing the safety wire - will try it myself when I get to that stage.
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 11:02 AM   #7
Russ/40
Senior Member
 
Russ/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santee, California
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

That extra care you take, is much appreciated by us guys that notice it.
Russ/40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 11:40 AM   #8
Tom Endy
Senior Member
 
Tom Endy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,660
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conaway2 View Post
Tom - thanks for your comments. I like your approach to installing the safety wire - will try it myself when I get to that stage.

Since you are rebuilding a rear axle assembly, the attached link may be of help.

Tom Endy

http://www.santaanitaas.org/wp-conte...vised-2014.pdf
Tom Endy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 12:00 PM   #9
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 596
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

What is the cutout in the torque tube gasket for? And what position do you put it in, if it matters? I does not match up with anything on the flanges. I notice most of the gaskets from vendors do have the cutout but the one supplied by Mitchell (since you mentioned them) does not have the cutout.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gasket.jpg (8.4 KB, 1 views)
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 12:04 PM   #10
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,170
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Good question about the notch. Most all the ones I have seen have them. I have been putting the notch on the bottom thinking it was a lube drain passage.
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 12:27 PM   #11
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 5,209
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

V8 has that ,there is a drilled passage through the banjo on them, perhaps they figured that if v8 has it the a also has it
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 12:55 PM   #12
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 596
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt in NJ View Post
V8 has that ,there is a drilled passage through the banjo on them, perhaps they figured that if v8 has it the a also has it
Kurt, I am not familiar with the V8 but the Model A does not have a passage either on the banjo or the torque tube.
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 01:52 PM   #13
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 245
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Endy View Post
Since you are rebuilding a rear axle assembly, the attached link may be of help.

Tom Endy

http://www.santaanitaas.org/wp-conte...vised-2014.pdf
Iíve been reading this article step by step as I work on the axle. Now, just waiting to get axle housings back form the machine shop with new bearing surfaces installed.

Itís a great, detailed description of the rebuilding process, and I really appreciate all the experience that you;ve documented in it.

Jim
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 01:56 PM   #14
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 11,825
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

I've been an aircraft mechanic or too long I guess. I always put a positive safety on bolts with drilled heads. Single wire safeties are OK but I don't align the holes and even if they were, I'd still safety them to apply a righty tighty pull on right hand thread bolts. This will hold a bit of torque on them just in case they work loose for one reason or another.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 02:05 PM   #15
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 500
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorwrench View Post
I've been an aircraft mechanic or too long I guess. I always put a positive safety on bolts with drilled heads. Single wire safeties are OK but I don't align the holes and even if they were, I'd still safety them to apply a righty tighty pull on right hand thread bolts. This will hold a bit of torque on them just in case they work loose for one reason or another.
I am not an aircraft mechanic but that is how I was taught and for the same reason.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 04:48 PM   #16
Kevin in NJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South East NJ
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

I am pretty sure if the wires are not set up to pull them tight, then they can loosen some.

Pretty sure you dont want them pretty, you want them safety tied.

https://aviation.stackexchange.com/q...g-behind-the-w
__________________
Cabriolet and Technical Hints
Kevin in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 12:41 PM   #17
ursus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,113
Default Re: Torque Tube Bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conaway2 View Post
So no gasket between the torque tube and banjo ? Why do gasket sets include one ??
The Model A rear axle design was carried forward to the 1932 Model B, which had a slightly different means of retaining the pinion bearing which allowed for the gasket. The gasket sets are for 28-32 and the gasket is included in the event that the user has a 1932 rear axle.
ursus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.