Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2020, 09:41 PM   #1
keyswitch1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 84
Default Horn Wiring

How does the two wires coming out from the radiator shell get hooked up to the horn. Thank you in advance

Last edited by keyswitch1; 02-07-2020 at 06:10 AM. Reason: speeling
keyswitch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 08:14 AM   #2
DD931
Senior Member
 
DD931's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PA Poconos
Posts: 722
Default Re: Horn Wiring

The horn has two "clips" inside the cover. The wires slide in under those clips - they have to come in from the sides to fit properly. The wires must have properly soldered "bullet" connectors on the ends.
DD931 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 02-07-2020, 08:30 AM   #3
keyswitch1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 84
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Thank you for that information! It is much appreciated
keyswitch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 08:31 AM   #4
marty in Ohio
Senior Member
 
marty in Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 586
Default Re: Horn Wiring

What DD931 said. Also, either wire can go on either clip. Your car doesn't care.
Marty
marty in Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 11:28 AM   #5
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,861
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Here you go.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Horn1a.jpg (49.9 KB, 124 views)
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 06:33 PM   #6
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 11,556
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Some components care but a motor driven vibrator type horn likely won't. If you reverse polarity on the motor, it turns the other direction.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 07:06 PM   #7
CT Jack
Senior Member
 
CT Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hebron, CT
Posts: 207
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Thank you rotorwrench for mentioning this. The horn button on the steering wheel is the horn circuit ground. Pressing the button completes the circuit which turns on the horn motor, ahooga. Very simple and straightforward.
CT Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 11:55 AM   #8
Joe K
Senior Member
 
Joe K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cow Hampshire
Posts: 3,563
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by CT Jack View Post
Thank you rotorwrench for mentioning this. The horn button on the steering wheel is the horn circuit ground. Pressing the button completes the circuit which turns on the horn motor, ahooga. Very simple and straightforward.
And gets you past any grounding issues with the headlight bar, yielding a horn that works regardless of the state of the ground.

Unlike the headlights which DO take a ground through the headlight bar - but non-functioning headlights are more early to be seen and more likely to be corrected before an accident that would be avoided by their use.

The only downside to the horn setup is age and time may have failed insulation in the steering column, and may yield a permanent sounding horn - but this is a defect like the headlights which will be corrected early before need.

https://lesmodela.files.wordpress.co...ng-diagram.pdf

Joe K
__________________
Shudda kept the horse.
Joe K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 07:38 PM   #9
wwirz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 18
Default Re: Horn Wiring

So...the horn only works when the generator is turning/engine on?
wwirz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 08:27 PM   #10
DNLs1930
Senior Member
 
DNLs1930's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Fort Worth side of DFW
Posts: 128
Default Re: Horn Wiring

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!

I just took my horn apart after a few strange AHOGAAAOOOGaas and started looking for some answers.



I looked at the various parts suppliers to see what was supposed to be inside the horn and found the wire "terminals" slip in to the clip and not really "attached" like terminals.



The wires on my horn were actually "safety wired" into the clips so guessing the "spring part of the clips is lacking...


Thanks for asking the question for me!! AND thanks everyone for teaching me more Model A stuff...
DNLs1930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 08:39 PM   #11
J Franklin
Senior Member
 
J Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 4,273
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwirz View Post
So...the horn only works when the generator is turning/engine on?
No, the horn works when the horn button is pressed, running or not, if the button actually supplies a good ground.

Welcome to the Barn.

Last edited by J Franklin; 05-18-2020 at 09:16 PM.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 08:40 PM   #12
neds29
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ahwatukee, AZ
Posts: 79
Default Re: Horn Wiring

I was just looking at my horn wondering the same thing! Thanks all for the answers. Timing really is everything. Ned
__________________
Retired civil engineer.
Winters in Phoenix, summers in Ipswich, Mass. and North Dakota.
'29 closed cab pickup- Excellent AZ truck.
'29 roadster- Owned for 21 years but now sold.
'28 CC pickup- My first car in Andover, MA back in '62- '63.
neds29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 09:34 PM   #13
redmodelt
Senior Member
 
redmodelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,069
Default Re: Horn Wiring

If you could make the horn run backwards you would have a saaGOOOAAAGOHA horn! LOL
__________________
I know the voices aren't real but damn they have some good ideas!
redmodelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 09:20 AM   #14
wwirz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 18
Default Re: Horn Wiring

How do I check if the button is working properly?
wwirz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 06:52 PM   #15
Herb Concord Ca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Concord CA
Posts: 317
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Remove the horn cover and both wires, reconnect the hot one to the horn and jumper the other horn terminal to ground, if it Ahoogas your problem is with the horn rod. Most likely the metal under the button needs to be cleaned.
Herb Concord Ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 10:20 AM   #16
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 11,556
Default Re: Horn Wiring

Just to add. Original horns have series windings in the motor so they can only motor one direction no mater which way they are connected much like a starter motor. This also gives them more torque but they use a lot of amperage to work. Some of the reproduction horns may not be set up this way but original types and good reproductions will be. I failed to mention this in post #6 so I wanted to clarify that statement.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.