Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-08-2017, 11:25 PM   #1
joshhirst13

Default New to Ford Barn & Ive Got A Couple Questions

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to this Forum so I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Josh & I just purchase a sweet little 1931 4 door Sedan a couple of weeks ago. It seems to be very original & it runs & drives. It's been a blast driving it around a getting a ton of head turns & thumbs up. I look forward to talking with everyone as I know you guys are all very knowledgeable about this stuff & im very new to model A's. Here are a couple of pictures of my car.

Here's my questions.
I have had a few issues with stuff plugging up the fuel valve at the bottom of the tank, in turn starving the car of fuel & causing it to stall out. I've had to unscrew the valve on the side of the road & poke the hole to free it of debris. Aside from that it's running great. I do have a couple of questions though.
1. Anybody know of an easy way to clean the tank without removing the whole thing?
2. I need to replace the top & I haven't been able to find any instructions on how to replace the type of top I have. I know a lot of guys just weld in a metal top, but I'd like to keep mine how it is so I don't have to paint the car. I like how the old paint looks. As always. Any info would help.
Thanks
Josh
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7016.JPG (64.1 KB, 193 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7025.JPG (69.9 KB, 200 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7084.jpg (84.9 KB, 196 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7213.jpg (84.9 KB, 198 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7217.jpg (78.3 KB, 181 views)
joshhirst13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 11:50 PM   #2
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: New to Ford Barn & Ive Got A Couple Questions

Welcome and congratulations,

Let's get to the meat,
Quote: