Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-26-2015, 12:15 PM   #1
hangarb7

Default valve job?

Hi Gents,

So I am still a newbie in my mind after 6 seasons with my car ('30 Tudor) and since every season brings more new and different things to work on, it is all new to me!

Someone mentioned in another thread about a motor on his test stand needing a valve job. I have the Les Andrews red book, but it doesn't talk about when or if an engine needs a valve job.

My engine is a really old build; the elderly person I bought it from told me that it had never been rebuilt, although I don't believe that. He bought the car in 1964, and because this one sat for twenty five + years, he owned several more cars and this car really was a garage queen.

The engine is admittedly sloppy, or at least sounds sloppy to me, with all kinds of slaps, raps and knocks. But it does run strong and it has been a happy tourer.

So how do I know if it needs a valve job? I hear of people doing them but what tells you it needs one? I have had sticky valves, but with some MM oil and running her often, she behaves.

Thanks for all constructive criticism and comments.

JackD
hangarb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 01:02 PM   #2
tbirdtbird
BANNED

Default Re: valve job?

"with all kinds of slaps, raps and knocks. But it does run strong"
a bit of a contradiction.

If you are not doing very many miles a yr ('ice cream car') then leave it alone.

Compression test properly done (there are 2 components to a full compression test) will tell you. Also, if the head should ever come off you can look and see and determine if there are burned valves (typically exhaust) by visual inspection.