Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-19-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Oakridgeacres

Default Gas without lead.

I am new to the model "A" having just purchased one, a 1929 coupe. My question is about putting an additive in at fill up. Do I need lead additive, or just stabil? The previous owner says just stabil. 1 1/2 oz. per gal. When these cars were new there was lead in the gas to lubricate valves.
Oakridgeacres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:18 PM   #2
James Rogers

Default Re: Gas without lead.

No, lead or tetraethyl lead was added in thew mid-late 30's for the higher compression ratios of Chevrolet and others to prevent knocking.
James Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:48 PM   #3
700rpm

You only need to add Stabil if the car is sitting with gas in it for two or more months. I also add some Marvel Mystery Oil.

As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:14 PM   #4
Kevin in NJ

Follow the link for an interesting bit of background on lead in gas.

http://www.radford.edu/wkovarik/papers/kettering.html
Kevin in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 04:28 PM   #5
criswellnk

Whenever I take the model T out to a car show questions about leaded gas and adding a lead additive are by far the most commonly asked questions. Although I seldom hear that question when I take the A to a show. When you tell some folks that lead wasn't added to gas until the thirties, they look at you like you're nuts because "somebody" told them that all old cars need to use leaded gas or they won't run right and they will damage the engine. James is right, you do not need it, but it is your car and if you think that you do I won't argue with you about it.