Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2019, 05:36 PM   #1
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 628
Default Tachometer

I want to install a tachometer in my 55 ford ...my car is still 6 volt. Are they voltage sensitive or will a any tach work regardless of 6 or 12 volt ?
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 06:02 PM   #2
flathead 53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: central nj
Posts: 536
Default Re: Tachometer

You will need A 6 volt tach, I got mine from A company in CA, westach, it works fine I think around $135.00, had it in my 40 coupe , now in my 53 f-100 ,
flathead 53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-29-2019, 09:56 PM   #3
CrownVic55
Senior Member
 
CrownVic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Collinsville, OK
Posts: 113
Default Re: Tachometer

Years ago I had a Dixco or Dixcon tach that would work on 6 or 12 volt. Take the case off and move a resistor from one post to another to change. Used it on both 6 and 12 volt cars. Don't know if you can still find one like that or not.
CrownVic55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 10:23 PM   #4
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 628
Default Re: Tachometer

thanks you guys...
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 03:50 PM   #5
JimNNN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 123
Default Re: Tachometer

Hey zoegrant, I just ordered a 6 volt tach from westech and it was somewhere around $125 before shipping. I haven't received it yet (ordered it a couple of weeks ago) but if you can wait a few more weeks I will probably have it installed and can give you a review. I've already seen some good reviews on it (from this forum, I believe.)


AS I recall, they had one tach that went up to 3000 rpm (probably for flatheads and inline sixes) but the one I ordered went up to 5000rpm, and there was another that went up higher than that. I seem to remember that they were all priced differently.
JimNNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 10:38 PM   #6
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 628
Default Re: Tachometer

Yes, I would love to hear your report on it....I will wait for that review.
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 12:22 PM   #7
JimNNN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 123
Default Re: Tachometer

Hello again zoegrant. I've rec'd an email from westech. They said it will be as long as another 5 weeks before they send my 6 volt tach out. Just wanted to let you know in case you were waiting for my review.



So I guess that's one thing that s good to know about westech: They may not have the item in stock and it could be a fairly lengthy turnaround time before the item is sent out. Regardless, I'll still leave a review on this thread once I get it installed.
JimNNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 07:00 PM   #8
zoegrant
Senior Member
 
zoegrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: tolland CT
Posts: 628
Default Re: Tachometer

Thanks Jim...I will wait for your review of the tach...thanks
zoegrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 03:12 PM   #9
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,492
Default Re: Tachometer

If you contact Tubman here on Fordbarn he sells a converter that lets you run any 12v tach of your choice on 6v pos ground.
Nothing wrong with the Westach but nice with a period correct tach sometimes.
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.