Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 12:11 AM   #101
Jordan
Senior Member
 
Jordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ft. Worth
Posts: 911
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Drove the sedan today for the first time with the 4 speed. Im in love.
__________________
Cowtown A's
Jordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:41 AM   #102
msmaron
Senior Member
 
msmaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 3,488
Send a message via AIM to msmaron
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1931 flamingo View Post
msmaron: Correct.
Paul in CT
More outstanding than I thought. Thank you.
__________________
Mark Maron
Ill., Region MARC & MAFCA
27A's, MARC JSC Member
MARC Dearborn 2019 Meet Chairman
National Facebook Admin.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/MARC.group/

A7191-Sport Coupe
29 Roadster
29-Town Sedan
msmaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-05-2012, 11:14 AM   #103
john in illinois
Senior Member
 
john in illinois's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Here is a pic of my F150 with AA bellhousing. No cutting of crossmember.

I fabricated the rear mount to isolate it from the crossmember.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg phppW3Z26AM.jpg (64.9 KB, 713 views)
john in illinois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:32 AM   #104
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,390
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Is there a rubber pad under that black flat piece? or how did you accomplish that?
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:34 AM   #105
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,390
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan View Post
Drove the sedan today for the first time with the 4 speed. Im in love.
Do you have any idea how much actual time this took from start to finish? Any pictures of your "transformation". I'm going to be starting mine soonly.
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:10 PM   #106
400A-64
Senior Member
 
400A-64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grass Valley,CA
Posts: 295
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

My mitchell is behind a "39" transmission Great combination.. I have over 85 thousand miles on it !! I would not change a thing....
Bruce Davis a400usa@nccn.net
400A-64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:34 PM   #107
Jamie86
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nashville,IN.
Posts: 95
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

john in illinois;379565 Here is a pic of my F150 with AA bell housing. No cutting of crossmember.

I fabricated the rear mount to isolate it from the crossmember.QUOTE

That looks like a good idea that you have done to help support the back of the transmission. Looks like you did a great job on it too.
Ken Parker of Van,TX did something similar to yours, but it supported by lip of the crossmember. He did it off the back of the transmission with two " L " pieces that are adjustable with rubber pads.
Jamie86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:32 PM   #108
PetesPonies
Senior Member
 
PetesPonies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maryland and South Carolina
Posts: 305
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Anyone have an experience with any of Ford's other SROD 4 speed transmissions?? These are also 4 speed OD types. They came in '80- up Ford trucks and in Mustangs ( though a slightly different SROD ).
__________________
Pete's Ponies
Mustang RUSToration & Performance
PetesPonies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:49 AM   #109
roddyb34
Senior Member
 
roddyb34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Geelong Australia
Posts: 113
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

The Single Rail Over Drive trans shares the same internals as the f150 type but you need the shifter on top to look any good in an A ,and i dont think you can adapt a jeep type shift to it ,,
roddyb34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:04 AM   #110
kenparker
Senior Member
 
kenparker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Van, Texas
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

The Ford SROD from mid '70's to mid '80's can be fitted to a Model A. I have one in my Speedster. The shift lever is mounted on the tailhousing, so it sits up to 6" further back. There are several versions and where the shifter is mounted on the tailhouse varies. I have found only two % of OD - the 37% and 41%. I dont think they have a 26%.

Not all the internals are the same. The output and input shaft and bearings are different, so it is almost impossible to get the 26% by changing internals.

Since shifter is on tailhouse, thus using the long original tailshaft, you must use an open driveline. I will try to get pictures of my Speedster shifter and driveline when the sun comes out.
kenparker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:12 AM   #111
George Miller
Senior Member
 
George Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 2,950
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

I did my own years ago, used a AA bell housing no cutting to frame or brakes. There is a lot of machining not a job for the back yard. You will like it if you buy one, plus your car still looks close to stock.
George Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:07 AM   #112
AL in NY
Senior Member
 
AL in NY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Upstate New York
Posts: 864
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

I also did the F150 install myself four years ago and used the AA bellhousing. I never could get the hang of downshifting a Model A, that was one of my reasons for installing it. The second reason was this transmission makes driving in busy downtown traffic MUCH easier because you are not the slowest vehicle out there and you can shift quickly reguardless of the engine RPM. Third reason was the OD fourth gear. I can cruise at 55-60 MPH without the engine screaming. IMHO, a very good upgrade for a "driver" Model A.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f150installedleftsm.jpg (275.3 KB, 570 views)
File Type: jpg f150installedrightsm.jpg (285.6 KB, 560 views)
File Type: jpg f150installedtopsm.jpg (253.3 KB, 523 views)
__________________
AL in NY

Last edited by AL in NY; 03-06-2012 at 10:53 AM.
AL in NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:43 PM   #113
chiliman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 196
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Hi guys have installed the f-150 trans took it on a test run I thibk it will be great I havent hooked speedometor up yet have the new housing will have to jb weld the outher end that screws on the speedometor and get a cable made at speedometor shop how have you guys done it what gear teeth do you go in the transmison with I have a couple differnt teeth thanks guys
chiliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:38 PM   #114
msmaron
Senior Member
 
msmaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 3,488
Send a message via AIM to msmaron
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

does anyone sell floor board patters to start with, then the hole can be adapted to where is is needed?
__________________
Mark Maron
Ill., Region MARC & MAFCA
27A's, MARC JSC Member
MARC Dearborn 2019 Meet Chairman
National Facebook Admin.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/MARC.group/

A7191-Sport Coupe
29 Roadster
29-Town Sedan
msmaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:42 PM   #115
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,390
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

I plan on using my old floorboard for a pattern and moving the hole back however far I need to. I presume that is what others have done.

ANYONE?
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:07 PM   #116
Logan
Senior Member
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 1,052
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

I just cover the original hole with a piece of sheet metal, and screw it to the wood. Simple and quick.
__________________
Cowtown A's
Logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:52 PM   #117
Jamie86
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nashville,IN.
Posts: 95
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliman View Post
Hi guys have installed the f-150 trans took it on a test run I thibk it will be great I havent hooked speedometor up yet have the new housing will have to jb weld the outher end that screws on the speedometor and get a cable made at speedometor shop how have you guys done it what gear teeth do you go in the transmison with I have a couple differnt teeth thanks guys
I don't understand why you would need to jb weld speedometer housing to make it work. The gear in the speedometer housing would depend on the rear end ratio and your tire size. Such as 3:78 would use a 19 tooth gear.
Jamie86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:14 AM   #118
chiliman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 196
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Jamie the cable housing that I have is made for the f-1oo which the end that goes on the transmision is fine but the head must be cut off that goes on the back of the speedometor so you can use the nut that screws on the back of the speedometor and a longer cable will have to be facacated at a speedometor shop a bout 20 bucks so im told how is yours done thanks
chiliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:08 AM   #119
Jamie86
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nashville,IN.
Posts: 95
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

chiliman,
Take a look at Post # 6 on this subject it will show the backing plate and the torque tube is hooked up there. Speedometer cable is hooked up the same way it is on the original transmission. The only difference is the torque tube must be shortened along with the radius rods for it to work with the new F150 conversion.
Jamie86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:43 PM   #120
chiliman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 196
Default Re: F150 tranny with overdrive

Jamie woops forgot to say I went with a open drive shaft a fellow in local club makes a nice set up so I still have the tail shaft and reqires to modify the f-100 cable thanks any way
chiliman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.