Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2018, 01:55 PM   #1
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,065
Default Changing condenser location

I have a crab distributor with 46-48 coil set up. Can condenser location be changed to where the coil mounts, for easier access to change condenser?
Thanks in advance for helping the electrically challenged,


Just how does one go about doing that?
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 02:05 PM   #2
deuce_roadster
Senior Member
 
deuce_roadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Shelton, WA
Posts: 2,256
Default Re: Changing condenser location

I think that it might make a theoretical difference to points metal transfer but would not make any practical difference. I keep a condenser with long leads and alligator clips for helping out if a car dies on a tour because of the condenser.
deuce_roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 07-18-2018, 02:49 PM   #3
FlatheadTed
Senior Member
 
FlatheadTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 4,031
Send a message via AIM to FlatheadTed
Default Re: Changing condenser location

Just mount it on the coil bolt and the wire to the distributor side on the coil terminal ,The covenace of having it there verses any slight change in point life and Mf is meniscal ,I have run one like that for about 25 years .Ted
__________________
http://www.flatheadted.com

Last edited by FlatheadTed; 07-18-2018 at 03:27 PM.
FlatheadTed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 03:15 PM   #4
BUBBAS IGNITION
Senior Member
 
BUBBAS IGNITION's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SPEEDWAY INDIANA
Posts: 3,786
Default Re: Changing condenser location

Lawson when using the fa54 condensor from NAPA usually that isnt a problem on the crab distributor.
However you could mount it anywhere you want using good connections and a good ground. Electrically they function best when mounted close to the points.

Are ya having a failure or expect to have one ?????
__________________
If it Makes Spark, we do it !!!!
www.bubbasignition.com
jimlinder@juno.com
BUBBAS IGNITION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 05:41 PM   #5
42guy
Senior Member
 
42guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 269
Default Re: Changing condenser location

I have been running my condenser mounted at the coil for 15 yrs. I use a 1963 Mopar condenser which is rated at about 32mf. according to their tech support. This would make up for loss due to the lead wire length. Suppose to end up with a 28 mf. condenser.
42guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 09:20 PM   #6
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,065
Default Re: Changing condenser location

Quote:
Originally Posted by BUBBAS IGNITION View Post
Lawson when using the fa54 condensor from NAPA usually that isnt a problem on the crab distributor.
However you could mount it anywhere you want using good connections and a good ground. Electrically they function best when mounted close to the points.

Are ya having a failure or expect to have one ?????

Thanks Jim. No, just trying to figure out how to simplify working on these old Fords due to my "advancing age" LOL
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 04:16 AM   #7
big job
Senior Member
 
big job's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dighton, Mass
Posts: 769
Default Re: Changing condenser location

I have worked on many industrial or big trucks & buses. Most had condensers about
the size of a C flashlight battery mounted on the coil and a lot of those were 12 vt pos
ground coil mounted on the fire wall. I still have some of those big condensers & they
have a screw on top. Now I think about it, think I'll try one. I remember never had
condenser problems on those.. Also the coil was as big as a finned coffee can. sam

Just remembered there was no resistor either
big job is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.