Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2014, 10:36 PM   #161
Hster
Member
 
Hster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bainbridge Island WA
Posts: 71
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Thanks
My question did relate to original question to this thread but I didn't see an answer. The question as I understand it is not how to adjust the amperage output , but what determines the voltage output.
I'll try a new thread
Hster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 10:45 PM   #162
darrylkmc
Senior Member
 
darrylkmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 757
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hster View Post
Thanks
My question did relate to original question to this thread but I didn't see an answer. The question as I understand it is not how to adjust the amperage output , but what determines the voltage output.
I'll try a new thread
Hster,

The Battery is what determines the Voltage Output, sounds like you need to check the condition of the battery. Make sure it is a 6V battery and that it is in good condition.

Darryl in Fairbanks
darrylkmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-14-2014, 10:51 PM   #163
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,867
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

The battery has nothing to do with the overall voltage output if the generator is working and in the mix. You can make a generator put out way more volts then 6 or 12 volts, it's what controls it that matters. The voltage cutout or regulator controls the max voltage.

What am I missing here?

Last edited by Tinker; 11-15-2014 at 10:50 AM.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 12:05 AM   #164
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,983
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrylkmc View Post
Hster,

The Battery is what determines the Voltage Output, sounds like you need to check the condition of the battery. Make sure it is a 6V battery and that it is in good condition.

Darryl in Fairbanks
This is true. There are those that have 12 volt batteries with a stock generator.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:14 PM   #165
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,867
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

I'll bump this post up again becuase I want to learn and am not trying to be difficult. So if I have a 6 volt battery and a 6 or 12 volt generator with a 12 volt cutout or regulator. Will I do damage to the electric system? Just curious.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:31 PM   #166
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,417
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinker View Post
I'll bump this post up again becuase I want to learn and am not trying to be difficult. So if I have a 6 volt battery and a 6 or 12 volt generator with a 12 volt cutout or regulator. Will I do damage to the electric system? Just curious.
You need a cutout or regulator the same voltage as the battery.

The 6 volt generator can charge a 12 volt battery, and a 12 volt generator regulated down to 7.2 volts can charge a 6 volt battery.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 10:45 PM   #167
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 4,867
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Ya that's what I though. Thanks Tom.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 01:53 AM   #168
darrylkmc
Senior Member
 
darrylkmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 757
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

What part of the Cutout regulates anything, it simply opens the circuit to the battery when the generator stops generating, thus preventing the battery from back-feeding to the generator.

Darryl in Fairbanks
darrylkmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 02:20 AM   #169
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,983
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrylkmc View Post
What part of the Cutout regulates anything, it simply opens the circuit to the battery when the generator stops generating, thus preventing the battery from back-feeding to the generator.

Darryl in Fairbanks
You want to wait until the generator matches the voltage of the battery to turn on. You don't want the generator at 6 volts connected to the 12 volt battery. Just as you don't want to connect a 6 volt charger to a 12 volt battery.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 09:13 PM   #170
darrylkmc
Senior Member
 
darrylkmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 757
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

I suppose that I have opened myself up to performing a test, which I will, but it will have to wait for a bit warmer weather here.

My line of thinking is that the purpose of a reverse current cutout relay is precisely that, prevent the reverse flow of current from the battery to the generator once the generator stops producing power.

Darryl in Fairbanks

Last edited by darrylkmc; 11-18-2014 at 04:49 PM.
darrylkmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 04:59 AM   #171
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,417
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Darryl, you are correct.

With near 15,000 views and the number of electrical problems that are mentioned, I think someone needs to write a book and make a video of troubleshooting the Model A electrical system and include a tutorial on using an analog multimeter.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 10:54 AM   #172
tbirdtbird
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: inside your RAM
Posts: 3,134
Default Re: Is There An Electrician In The House?

Tom, that person could be you! A good way to get thru the winter
__________________
'31 180A
tbirdtbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.