Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2019, 10:34 AM   #1
leo
Senior Member
 
leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 724
Question E A Laboratories Voltage Applications

I was looking at an early advertisement for E. A. Laboratories horns, specifically the Mile Away and 10 A models and it said they were wound for both 6 and 12 volts. There was only one item number for each so does this mean that that model horn could handle both 6 and 12 volt applications? It specifically said being wound for 6 "and" 12 volts, not "or"........
leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 10:39 AM   #2
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 552
Default Re: E A Laboratories Voltage Applications

That would be a misleading statement. Probably meant "available in 6 and 12 volt". Many have experienced the result of running a 6v horn at 12v. Not pretty.

Would like to see the ad.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-19-2019, 12:56 PM   #3
leo
Senior Member
 
leo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 724
Default Re: E A Laboratories Voltage Applications

Here is the ad. I hope it is large enough to read....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EA Horn Ad.jpg (37.9 KB, 37 views)
leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:16 PM   #4
eagle
Senior Member
 
eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Eagle Bend, MN
Posts: 1,553
Default Re: E A Laboratories Voltage Applications

I can't read the ad but I've seen old accessories that had three terminals. Use the outside two for 12 volt or run power to center, with both outside grounded for 6 volt operation. No idea if that's what was happening here.
__________________
"There are some that can destroy an anvil with a teaspoon and shouldn't be allowed to touch anything resembling a tool."
eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 03:14 PM   #5
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,643
Default Re: E A Laboratories Voltage Applications

If its an original horn I wouldn't use 12 volts . I can smell the smoke when I blow the original horn that I have on 6 volts . I have had no problem using the repro horns that was sold by JC Whitney and others on either six or twelve volts .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.