Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-16-2016, 01:06 AM   #1
Joshyk860

Default New member looking for advise, please

So I'm starting down the path of building a model a! I've located a few blocks/ complete non running engines and plan on starting with getting an engine built and running on a stand. What should I look for and avoid, is it worth picking up a few of the blocks to go through clean up to check for cracks? What about a is a "fair" price for blocks? As I said I'm new to all of this any advice is well appreciated! Any guys on here from ct?
Joshyk860 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 05:56 AM   #2
Mike V. Florida

Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: New member looking for advise, please

Cracks are common but also fixable in all but the most extreme cases.
Old 05-16-2016, 08:32 AM   #3
burner31

Do you have a body it's going in?
Do you have the frame?
Sounds like you are starting from scratch with just the engine.
You may find a buildable engine in a frame/body for sale, spread your net, you will catch more.
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 08:46 AM   #4
1930artdeco

Welcome to the barn! Where are you located? My advice would be to find a local club for lots of help. Piecing a Model A together is going to be a Looooong term project. I think you would be better off buying that is at least whole and fixing it up. Or buying that is drives me and enjoying it. That way you don't run out of steam and get frustrated.

Mike
Old 05-16-2016, 09:22 AM   #5
Terry, NJ

Welcome to the barn! I bought a non running engine, no guarantees about cracks, for $75.