Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2020, 04:34 PM   #1
Cape Codder
Senior Member
 
Cape Codder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,070
Default Tie Rod End Installation

Bought NEW Pitman Arm because Ball end was worn and have shaking in front end. Also bought new bolt for the Pitman Arm. With approx. 225 in. of torque on bolt nut Pitman Arm is moving fore and aft a SSSSSLLLLight bit. Sector Shaft looks fine although don't know what a good shaft measures to?

Have tried to assemble any way BUT CANNOT get back plug of drag link threaded into drag link. WHAT is the SECRET in installing this plug?

Does anyone have any thought on either PROBLEM?
Cape Codder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 05:02 PM   #2
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 500
Default Re: Tie Rod End Installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cape Codder View Post
Bought NEW Pitman Arm because Ball end was worn and have shaking in front end. Also bought new bolt for the Pitman Arm. With approx. 225 in. of torque on bolt nut Pitman Arm is moving fore and aft a SSSSSLLLLight bit. Sector Shaft looks fine although don't know what a good shaft measures to?

Have tried to assemble any way BUT CANNOT get back plug of drag link threaded into drag link. WHAT is the SECRET in installing this plug?

Does anyone have any thought on either PROBLEM?
Is the pitman arm lose on the sector shaft or is there play in the steering box?

As for the drag link plug, mine was a real bear to get started. Maybe get some help, someone with BIG arms... maybe your MIL?
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-07-2020, 06:07 PM   #3
Cape Codder
Senior Member
 
Cape Codder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: Tie Rod End Installation

The Master Cylinder We adjusted the end play and as far as we can see it is NOT moving.
Cape Codder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 06:23 AM   #4
aermotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 782
Default Re: Tie Rod End Installation

[QUOTE=Cape Codder;1896631]Bought NEW Pitman Arm because Ball end was worn and have shaking in front end. Also bought new bolt for the Pitman Arm. With approx. 225 in. of torque on bolt nut Pitman Arm is moving fore and aft a SSSSSLLLLight bit. Sector Shaft looks fine although don't know what a good shaft measures to?

I have found that the steering box mount bolts to frame holes slightly elongated to trick you into thinking it is the pitman arm to shaft movement.

John
aermotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 06:27 AM   #5
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,653
Default Re: Tie Rod End Installation

Has to be TIGHT, NOT in. lbs........................
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 10:18 AM   #6
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 500
Default Re: Tie Rod End Installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1931 flamingo View Post
Has to be TIGHT, NOT in. lbs........................
Paul in CT
Well 225 in. lbs. is ~19 ft. lbs.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...

Last edited by The Master Cylinder; 06-08-2020 at 10:37 AM. Reason: Added punctuation.
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.