Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 08:09 AM   #1
'31 Patina
Senior Member
 
'31 Patina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 207
Default Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

Does anyone have a wiring diagram for this device? I've tried searching the but no luck.

Also, can anyone tell me what year this switch is from?

Thanks!
'31 Patina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:35 AM   #2
BillLee/Chandler, TX
Senior Member
 
BillLee/Chandler, TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The sticks of east Texas
Posts: 458
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

Perhaps one of those in this article?

http://www.cedarcreekas.org/TechTopi...Collection.pdf
__________________
Bill Lee
http://www.CedarCreekAs.org
BillLee/Chandler, TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-04-2012, 09:47 AM   #3
silvertop
Member
 
silvertop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: pittsburgh, Pa.
Posts: 64
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

That switch was one of the early units for aftermarket turn signal installation on vehicles not equiped with turn signals.

That unit will require the use of add-on lights both front and back.

Run a inline fuse from the ammeter to a two prong flasher and the yellow wire from the unit to the other terminal of the flasher. The green wire to the left front light, the red wire to the right front light, the white wire to the left rear light, the black wire to the right rear light.

Ron Francis makes a unit that will allow you to connect this unit into your existing lights , but it is almost as pricy as a newer unit.
__________________
The only thing that can beat an attempt----is a failure!!!!
silvertop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:05 AM   #4
steve s
Senior Member
 
steve s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

I'm not sure if this is the Signal Stat, but it might help.

Steve
Attached Images
File Type: jpg turn signal wiring diagram.jpg (19.7 KB, 74 views)
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:28 AM   #5
'31 Patina
Senior Member
 
'31 Patina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 207
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillLee/Chandler, TX View Post
Perhaps one of those in this article?

http://www.cedarcreekas.org/TechTopi...Collection.pdf
Thanks.

I'm in the process of trying to figure out how to add turn signals to my '31. I have two tail lights and I would like to use those as my turn signals as well. I'm still running 6volt.

It looks like in order to use my tail lights/brake lights as blinkers I will need to us a 900 signal stat switch and not the 700? I have a 700 and I was hoping to use it but I don't want to add another set of lights.
'31 Patina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:33 AM   #6
steve s
Senior Member
 
steve s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

Here's another document I found.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf sigstat turn signal diagrams.pdf (181.9 KB, 96 views)
steve s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:45 AM   #7
'31 Patina
Senior Member
 
'31 Patina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 207
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve s View Post
Here's another document I found.
Thanks Steve!
'31 Patina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:50 AM   #8
'31 Patina
Senior Member
 
'31 Patina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 207
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvertop View Post
That switch was one of the early units for aftermarket turn signal installation on vehicles not equiped with turn signals.

That unit will require the use of add-on lights both front and back.

Run a inline fuse from the ammeter to a two prong flasher and the yellow wire from the unit to the other terminal of the flasher. The green wire to the left front light, the red wire to the right front light, the white wire to the left rear light, the black wire to the right rear light.

Ron Francis makes a unit that will allow you to connect this unit into your existing lights , but it is almost as pricy as a newer unit.
Thanks for this information. It looks like I won't use the 700 since it would require the use of add-on lights. I really want to use my existing tail lights as turn signals.

Is the 900 compatable with 6volt? I assumes so but I just want to make sure I start in the right direction and researching the correct stuff.

Thanks again for your help!
'31 Patina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:15 AM   #9
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,536
Default Re: Signal Stat 700 Turn Signal Switch

I got my Signal Stat 900 from Sacramento Vintage Ford. They wire it up so that you can use existing lights (tail/stop and cowl/parking) or add extra lights. All the wiring is there, color coded to match the Model A wiring, and is fabric wrapped like the original Model A wiring. It was a snap to install, and works perfectly. They will supply it in 6 or 12 volt. (the only thing different is the indicator light and the flasher). These can be changed if you decide to go a different way later.
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.