Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2020, 11:18 AM   #1
Kerk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 611
Default Cable driven Tach. info .

I am looking for Cable driven Tach. info and believe I saw it a while back. Any info is welcome. Kerk kx3235ford@gmail.com Thanks
Kerk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 12:31 PM   #2
whygoby
Senior Member
 
whygoby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nevada
Posts: 138
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Kerk, I make a reproduction model 674L S/W tach drive gearbox that doesn't require a mounting bracket, but just "floats off the front of the engine. PM me for more details!! whygoby
whygoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-25-2020, 04:55 PM   #3
solidaxle
Senior Member
 
solidaxle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 175
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Can you be more specific.
solidaxle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 04:57 PM   #4
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 6,728
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidaxle View Post
Can you be more specific.

PM "whygoby" for details! DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


LAZINESS is the art of RESTING...BEFORE you get tired!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 05:05 PM   #5
solidaxle
Senior Member
 
solidaxle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 175
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8COOPMAN View Post
PM "whygoby" for details! DD
I meant the original poster Kerk. Not sure what he is asking.
solidaxle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 05:37 PM   #6
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 6,728
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidaxle View Post
I meant the original poster Kerk. Not sure what he is asking.

Sorry...I blew that one! DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


LAZINESS is the art of RESTING...BEFORE you get tired!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 07:50 AM   #7
solidaxle
Senior Member
 
solidaxle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 175
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

I should have been more specific on my specifying.
solidaxle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:55 PM   #8
whygoby
Senior Member
 
whygoby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nevada
Posts: 138
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

The reproduction Stewart Warner 674L tach drive unit doesn't require a mounting bracket, or inner flex drive link. The speedo cable that goes to the tachometer head holds the gearbox in place, so the unit just "floats". PM me for more details. Thanks, Doug
whygoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:38 PM   #9
GB SISSON
Senior Member
 
GB SISSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orcas Island Washington
Posts: 2,394
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Is there something simple but not period correct for a tach? I would think some kind of magnet or sensor attached to the crank pulley could be read by a gauge on the dash with 12 volts... ??
__________________
'47 1/2 ton pickup next project, '47 one ton panel 99% stock nearing completion, '47 2 ton with 8ba and 9' script stakebed, '46 1/2 ton woodie project,'59 F350 9' flareside pickup with cummins 6at. 'Rusty ol' floorboards, hot on their feet' (Alan Jackson)
GB SISSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 01:01 AM   #10
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB SISSON View Post
Is there something simple but not period correct for a tach? I would think some kind of magnet or sensor attached to the crank pulley could be read by a gauge on the dash with 12 volts... ??
On 12v you should be able to take the signal from the coil with just about any tach as gauge...or are we talking the worlds first dieselpowered flathead
flatheadmurre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 05:39 PM   #11
whygoby
Senior Member
 
whygoby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nevada
Posts: 138
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Here is the new 674L tach drive gearbox that just "floats", and doesn't require a mounting bracket. PM me if you want more info. This gearbox shows up in the 1942 Stewart Warner master catalog.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN9752.jpg (71.9 KB, 53 views)
whygoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 08:55 PM   #12
GB SISSON
Senior Member
 
GB SISSON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orcas Island Washington
Posts: 2,394
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatheadmurre View Post
On 12v you should be able to take the signal from the coil with just about any tach as gauge...or are we talking the worlds first dieselpowered flathead

You got the diesel powered part right. No coil and the engine manufacturer no longer sells a tach drive for this model. 99 percent of the rest of the truck is still 47 ford. I can google it. I DO like that floating tach drive for my proper flathead powered vehicles.
__________________
'47 1/2 ton pickup next project, '47 one ton panel 99% stock nearing completion, '47 2 ton with 8ba and 9' script stakebed, '46 1/2 ton woodie project,'59 F350 9' flareside pickup with cummins 6at. 'Rusty ol' floorboards, hot on their feet' (Alan Jackson)
GB SISSON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 03:10 PM   #13
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: Cable driven Tach. info .

Quote:
Originally Posted by GB SISSON View Post
You got the diesel powered part right. No coil and the engine manufacturer no longer sells a tach drive for this model. 99 percent of the rest of the truck is still 47 ford. I can google it. I DO like that floating tach drive for my proper flathead powered vehicles.
With some luck your alternator has the W connection itīs for tach drive.
Lots of the big trucks has this.
If you donīt have it open up the alternator install a wire to one of the stator windings where they attach to the rectifier and there you have you tachdrive signal.

Last edited by flatheadmurre; 03-29-2020 at 03:17 PM. Reason: Added info for taking out tach signal
flatheadmurre is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.