Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2020, 08:09 AM   #1
rockfla
Senior Member
 
rockfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 1,670
Default Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Question of the day?


Had a head gasket let go on a sort of "tired", good running flathead (pushing coolant out the back of the head). Pulled the heads and no evidence of any cracks. Having the heads checked now and IF good having them "decked". The question is.......Since the block is not getting decked......do you use any kind of "sealant" product around the water ports on the block and heads with the newer graphite head gaskets???
rockfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 08:50 AM   #2
jimTN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 2,037
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

If you used a steel or copper gasket and coated it with a sealer like "copper coat" you would not have a problem.
jimTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-03-2020, 11:29 AM   #3
supereal
Senior Member
 
supereal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,440
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Almost all cylinder heads show some warping and should be checked with a good straight edge. At our shop we resurface both the gasket surface of the heads, and the deck of the block on each job. With good quality head gaskets, no gasket sealer should be necessary. It is a good practice to install a good sealer to the coolant. When I was working for a Ford dealer years ago, each "authorized rebuilt" engine included a bottle of sealer.
supereal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 01:21 PM   #4
Ggmac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Lake worth Florida
Posts: 534
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

I still spray the gasket , both sides with aluminum paint . And use a thin layer of grease on the surface . Never had any leaks and I've built dozens if not more when I was employed.
Ggmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 02:25 PM   #5
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 7,467
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Torque to 45 ft 33 heat cycles. Over torquing warps the BLOCK!!
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 05:58 PM   #6
cadillac512
Senior Member
 
cadillac512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 137
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfla View Post
Question of the day?


Had a head gasket let go on a sort of "tired", good running flathead (pushing coolant out the back of the head). Pulled the heads and no evidence of any cracks. Having the heads checked now and IF good having them "decked". The question is.......Since the block is not getting decked......do you use any kind of "sealant" product around the water ports on the block and heads with the newer graphite head gaskets???





No. A graphite gasket ("Best" brand gaskets are a very good choice) needs no sealer.Resurfacing the heads is a VERY good idea.



Terry
__________________
"It don't take but country smarts to solve the problem" (Smokey Yunick)
cadillac512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 06:12 PM   #7
35fordtn
Senior Member
 
35fordtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McMinnville, TN
Posts: 1,731
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

I use sealer on all gaskets EXCEPT the graphtite best brand gaskets. They are about as good as it gets.
35fordtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 07:16 PM   #8
Hal Beatty
Senior Member
 
Hal Beatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 133
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Read Best Gaskets recommendations for their Graphtite head gaskets... use a sealer.

https://bestgasket.com/about-our-products/

Scroll down, it's on the right side.
Hal Beatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2020, 08:01 PM   #9
Tinker
Senior Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN/FL
Posts: 5,668
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Use a spray sealer. Not a tube.
Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 02:40 AM   #10
deuce lover
Senior Member
 
deuce lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern France
Posts: 3,264
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Hylomar Blue in a aerosol can might work. flatheadmurre(member here) advised me to use it and it worked.
deuce lover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 07:50 AM   #11
rockfla
Senior Member
 
rockfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 1,670
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ol' Ron View Post
Torque to 45 ft 33 heat cycles. Over torquing warps the BLOCK!!
Ole' Ron
33 Heat cycles......meaning run the engine to "normal" operating temperature and let cool, RE-TORQUE at 45 for 33 straight times??
rockfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:00 AM   #12
flatheadmurre
Senior Member
 
flatheadmurre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

I think OlīRon means 3 heat cycles...computer hickup...
flatheadmurre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 09:14 AM   #13
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 14,266
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfla View Post
Ole' Ron
33 Heat cycles......meaning run the engine to "normal" operating temperature and let cool, RE-TORQUE at 45 for 33 straight times??
Ya, that is 3 as in three, LOL.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 10:08 AM   #14
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 7,467
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

I can't see the screen sometimes. Probably won't be able to do this much longer.
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 10:20 AM   #15
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 14,266
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ol' Ron View Post
I can't see the screen sometimes. Probably won't be able to do this much longer.
Hang in there Ron, we got your back!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:06 PM   #16
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 7,467
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Thanks JS
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:13 PM   #17
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 6,705
Default Re: Flathead Re-builders....Do You

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatheadmurre View Post
I think OlīRon means 3 heat cycles...computer hickup...

Hey hey......If Ron wants to check it 33 times, the torque will most-assuredly be precisely ON THE MONEY! DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


LAZINESS is the art of RESTING...BEFORE you get tired!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.