Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2019, 08:33 PM   #1
jack99
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bridgehampton, NY
Posts: 95
Default Generator question

My Generator stopped charging. I removed the band and all I see is minute droplets of solder thrown around inside housing. I guess this indicated failure of the armature. Am I correct? Thanks
jack99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 08:52 PM   #2
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,473
Default Re: Generator question

Yup, you are correct. Once a generator lets the solder out, it won't put electricity out. With the number of people these days who have put alternators on their cars, a generator shouldn't be too hard to find.
__________________
I wouldn't change any of my kids or grandkids for the world but I'd like to change the world for them.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-21-2019, 06:59 AM   #3
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 616
Default Re: Generator question

Agreed, it's toast. If all else is good, you can buy a new armature from one of the vendors or keep your eye out for a good used armature.


It's too bad because I have 3 armatures that are electrically good but have been worn by a seized front bearing. If you're friends with any machinists that can sleeve the shaft, I'll mail you an armature.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 07:52 AM   #4
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 4,827
Default Re: Generator question

some 35 years ago my armature threw the solder due to a fuse failure, I went to the electric motor place on the corner and was told that I could do a tempoary repair by soldering the windings back ---still going
if you push on the windings at the front end with your thumb do they move around---if they are loose too much "smoke" came out
take meter and see if windings are shorted --if shorted too much smoke left the wires, if not shorted it could be possible to resolder, but it takes a high wattage iron---at least 300 watts ---then retest
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.