Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Late V8 (1954+)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2020, 11:17 AM   #1
callbald
Senior Member
 
callbald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Leo, Indiana
Posts: 208
Default loosen brake line nuts

having heck of a time trying to break loose the brake line nuts on 50 year old system. I've rounded off 2 nuts. I heard of freezing them, torching them which is best for doing minimal damage?
callbald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2020, 12:09 PM   #2
darrell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: p.e.i.
Posts: 795
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

ive had to use vice grips before.these lines are dirt cheap.
darrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-25-2020, 01:31 PM   #3
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2,391
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Are you using 'flare nut' wrenches?
They're shaped more like a box-end wrench but with a slot in the end to slip over the brake line. They get a better grip on all 6 corners of the nut.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg flare nut wrenches c.jpg (67.1 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by dmsfrr; 04-26-2020 at 03:33 PM. Reason: add photo
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 01:36 PM   #4
JimNNN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 212
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsfrr View Post
Are you using 'flare nut' wrenches?
They're shaped more like a box-end wrench but with a small slot in the end to slip over the brake line.

Yes, that's the number one question. I'd gone years without knowing about them, so it's worth checking if the OP is aware of them.

Also, if the current brake line is a fabricated replacement (as old brake lines sometimes are) is it possible the fittings are metric?
JimNNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 02:55 PM   #5
poolplayer1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 253
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

I replaced the old lines on my 55 last year and the driver side nut was rounded off pretty bad. I had to use vise grips to loosen the nut. After I replaced the lines,I did buy a flare nut wrench and tighten the new nuts with the flare nut wrench. Works great.
poolplayer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 03:29 PM   #6
callbald
Senior Member
 
callbald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Leo, Indiana
Posts: 208
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

yep, have flair nut wrench and it rounded it off. This 50+ year old nut is frozen on. I was jut told that AC Delco rust penetrant and inhibitor is suppose to work wonders.

Last edited by callbald; 04-26-2020 at 03:32 PM. Reason: adding info
callbald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 07:49 PM   #7
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,725
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Stuff named Gibbs also works very well
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 07:52 PM   #8
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 2,725
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

I have run across some brake fittings where the nut size seemed to be metric as no US size fit it. Had to go out and buy metric flare wrenches


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNNN View Post
Yes, that's the number one question. I'd gone years without knowing about them, so it's worth checking if the OP is aware of them.

Also, if the current brake line is a fabricated replacement (as old brake lines sometimes are) is it possible the fittings are metric?
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 08:15 PM   #9
5851a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NE Iowa
Posts: 801
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Never heard of the freezing, but I did put some good heat on a front brake line once. heat travel up to the rubber line crimp and hose blew off. Had my head up in the fender and sounded like a fire cracker went off, couldn't hear for 2 days. Never did that again.
5851a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 10:03 PM   #10
Alaska Jim
Senior Member
 
Alaska Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 1,324
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Try a 50-50 mix of acetone and atf
Alaska Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2020, 11:38 PM   #11
dmsfrr
Senior Member
 
dmsfrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 2,391
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2748 View Post
I have run across some brake fittings where the nut size seemed to be metric as no US size fit it. Had to go out and buy metric flare wrenches
The relatively new flex hose between the MC and Booster in my '55 has metric fittings. The usual/standard size wrenches don't fit the nuts but metric ones do. Luckily it's not rusty or stuck.
dmsfrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 06:02 PM   #12
bobss396
Senior Member
 
bobss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 607
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

I'd go with even a propane torch, I use Mapp gas with mine, it burns hotter. I would suggest draining and blowing out the lines before getting the blue wrench out.
bobss396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2020, 07:15 PM   #13
callbald
Senior Member
 
callbald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Leo, Indiana
Posts: 208
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

bought Benzine micro torch and that did the trick. thanks all
callbald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2020, 06:42 AM   #14
bobss396
Senior Member
 
bobss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 607
Default Re: loosen brake line nuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by callbald View Post
bought Benzine micro torch and that did the trick. thanks all
I don't even fight with a frozen fitting, go for the torch every time. Glad it came apart without too much trouble. As good as line wrenches are, you can still strip a nut if it is stubborn enough.
bobss396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.