Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 08:41 AM   #1
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 199
Default Gas gauge repair question

Not realizing my gas gauge wasnít working, I filled the tank pretty full - gauge reads 0. I think I need to replace the float. How much gas do I have to drain from the tank before the fuel level is below the glass lens on the gauge ? I would prefer no to drain the tank completely if I donít have to.

Thanks - Jim
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:54 AM   #2
BRENT in 10-uh-C
Senior Member
 
BRENT in 10-uh-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern Tennessee
Posts: 9,301
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Jim, you really need to drain the majority of the tank simply because it is easier when you get ready to calibrate the gauge. Also, either the Neoprene or Brass floats are the best. Don't bother with the cork unless you wish to re-do this exercise in a year or so.

The easy way to drain the tank is to remove the gas line where it enters the carburetor. Add a length of rubber gas line to the end and place the opposite end into a 5 gal fuel jug. Two fuel jugs should get you close on what you will need to drain.
__________________
.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
.
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

.
BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-26-2020, 09:00 AM   #3
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 199
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Brent - thanks. I’ve got a neoprene float arriving in a few days. I think I’ll drive the car for a while until I see the gas level drop below the sight glass - then drain most of what’s left. Last time I replaced the float was over 30 years ago. Hope I can find the special gas gauge tools I bought then.
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:08 AM   #4
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

I do not know an exact level. But hey, this gives you an excuse to go for a drive. Stick a yardstick down the filler hole (if you do not have a spark arrestor), and drive till you get within a few inches of gas in it.


Once it is calibrated full/empty, can always drain, add a gallon at a time, and mark up a stick for comparing level vs. actual gallons. I found out from experience the last 1/4 to 1/8 tank on the gauge goes pretty fast due to the gas tank design. When a newbie I ran out of gas when driving in the country by over estimating how many miles I had left in the tank. The gauge is not linear to actual gas in the tank at the top and bottom of the tank.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 09:46 AM   #5
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,548
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

BEFORE you repair, disconnect the battery.
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 10:04 AM   #6
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 199
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Thanks for the comments ! I’ll definitely have the battery disconnected when I repair the gauge.
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 10:06 AM   #7
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 199
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

I noticed yesterday while trying to fish the gas gauge wire up with a coat hanger that the spark arrester that used to be there is gone. Not sure I’ll be able to fish it out of the tank.
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 10:13 AM   #8
Marshall V. Daut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 1,427
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Check your private messages on this web page.
Marshall
Marshall V. Daut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 10:13 AM   #9
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 2,217
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Brent is right on. I like to set my gauge so i still have a little gas on empty. also use cork gaskets. not the neoprene one they will swell up with ethanol.
jw hash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 10:14 AM   #10
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Now is time to do it, I was able to successfully hook the narrow end with a bent up wire coat hanger and pull it out thought teh gas guage opening. Had to use pliers to collapse it a little at a time as coming out through the opening. It did test my patience though.










Perhaps others have a better way.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 11:17 AM   #11
larrys40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St Charles , Missouri
Posts: 1,776
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jw hash View Post
Brent is right on. I like to set my gauge so i still have a little gas on empty. also use cork gaskets. not the neoprene one they will swell up with ethanol.
John make a good point as some of the core suppliers offer the neoprene but the cork is the way to go. Make sure you get all the old cork out of the ridges in the tank where it seats. This is very important! I use a small pick to make sure itís cleaned out well. Itís rwally not a big deal to drain the tank and do it. If your fuel shutoff is leaking or not shutting off fuel flow now is the time for that as well.
Routine service job ...
Brentís Gabe you good advice to drain and calibrate the gauge. You can slightly tweak the arm to get there . You can use a wire or magnetic stick to pull the arm up to test travel and reading on the gauge to determine adjustments if required .
Larry shepard
larrys40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 01:44 PM   #12
goodcar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 134
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conaway2 View Post
Not realizing my gas gauge wasnít working, I filled the tank pretty full - gauge reads 0. I think I need to replace the float. How much gas do I have to drain from the tank before the fuel level is below the glass lens on the gauge ? I would prefer no to drain the tank completely if I donít have to.

Thanks - Jim
In addition to other suggestions, do not use the neoprene gaskets when replacing the glass, they don't last. Use the cork gasket.
goodcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 02:41 PM   #13
al's28/33
Senior Member
 
al's28/33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Use the BRASS FLOAT you will not have to replace it.


The Zenith carbs were originally made with brass floats, why did the gas tank use a cork float ? Henry should have thought about that.....
__________________
1928 "A" Phaeton (mid year with many early features)
1933 "V8" Closed-Cab Pickup Truck
(originally a Model B, 4 Cylinder dating to May, 1933)
al's28/33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:34 PM   #14
Conaway2
Senior Member
 
Conaway2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 199
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Thanks all for your responses ! Brass float is ordered, as are cork gaskets.

Thanks - Jim
Conaway2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:41 PM   #15
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 458
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Late to the party, as usual. I hope you ordered the brass slip ring also. https://www.snydersantiqueauto.com/P...earchByKeyword. Some kits come with the paper ones, of which I am not a fan of. Of course, if you have a brass one in there already, you can re-use that one.

Snyder's cork set does not include a slip ring at all.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:46 PM   #16
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 458
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Quote:
Originally Posted by al's28/33 View Post
Use the BRASS FLOAT you will not have to replace it.


The Zenith carbs were originally made with brass floats, why did the gas tank use a cork float ? Henry should have thought about that.....
This is true, but Henry didn't make Zenith carbs.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 08:07 PM   #17
TerryO
Senior Member
 
TerryO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: N. GA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Quote:
Use the BRASS FLOAT you will not have to replace it.
I did...


TOB
TerryO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 08:17 PM   #18
1955cj5
Senior Member
 
1955cj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,448
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conaway2 View Post
I noticed yesterday while trying to fish the gas gauge wire up with a coat hanger that the spark arrester that used to be there is gone. Not sure I’ll be able to fish it out of the tank.
I was able to get my old spark arrester out through the filler opening.It had been rolling around in the tank for who knows how long

It was interfering with the gas gauge, it held the float up just enough so the gauge always showed 1/4 tank or so of fuel.

It took plenty of fiddling around but it finally came out. I used a stick magnet and the long nose vise grips to fish it out and pull it out.

I repaired it as shown in the last picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2015_0814modelajeep1309.jpg (55.0 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg 2015_0814modelajeep1316.jpg (81.0 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg 2015_0814modelajeep1323.jpg (60.0 KB, 40 views)
__________________
Early '29 CCPU that had a 4-speed, but not any more.......in the family since '62
1955cj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 07:55 AM   #19
chap52
Senior Member
 
chap52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Marana Arizona
Posts: 1,590
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Here is the link to a video on adjusting the gauge... Chap

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucSV66JVyDc&t=133s
chap52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 11:18 AM   #20
Ed Wendell
Senior Member
 
Ed Wendell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 146
Default Re: Gas gauge repair question

Jim, while you have the tank drained you might think about putting a pencil filter on the shut off valve.
Ed
Ed Wendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.