Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2020, 06:54 AM   #1
veggie
Member
 
veggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Clinton Ct.
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to veggie Send a message via Yahoo to veggie
Default Not running

hi Barners

Can you help me? I have 1930 Model AThat runs for about 10 seconds. I replaced the carburetor with a know good one, new intake and exhaust manifolds and still does not run. What I am looking for is someone that can help me. I live in the South Jersey area near Toms River. I will pay for someone to help me.
veggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 06:58 AM   #2
Ray64
Senior Member
 
Ray64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grafton,OHIO
Posts: 614
Default Re: Not running

Take the gas line from the carb and check for a full flow Acts like fuel starvation
Ray64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-11-2020, 07:00 AM   #3
KGBnut
Senior Member
 
KGBnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southwestern Connecticut
Posts: 786
Default Re: Not running

Could be as simple as gas cap vent. Try running it with the gas cap off.
__________________
Style beats speed any day, and with a lot fewer tickets.
KGBnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 08:02 AM   #4
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: Not running

GAV opened 1 turn ? Pull the advance lever down 2 clicks when it starts !
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:34 AM   #5
veggie
Member
 
veggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Clinton Ct.
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to veggie Send a message via Yahoo to veggie
Default Re: Not running

Iwill try
THANKS
veggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:47 AM   #6
Gary WA
Senior Member
 
Gary WA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clinton,WA/Whidbey Island
Posts: 3,189
Default Re: Not running

Quote:
Originally Posted by veggie View Post
hi Barners

Can you help me? I have 1930 Model AThat runs for about 10 seconds. I replaced the carburetor with a know good one, new intake and exhaust manifolds and still does not run. What I am looking for is someone that can help me. I live in the South Jersey area near Toms River. I will pay for someone to help me.
Local club Members in area???? any rust in glass sediment bulb?or cast iron one clean out! Rust in tank valve?
__________________
www.whidbeymodelaclub.com
Gary WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:50 AM   #7
fuzes45
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Corrupt-A -Cut Eastern,Ct
Posts: 43
Default Re: Not running

Remove plug from bottom of carb, not bolt that holes the halfs togeather and see
if gas flows thru carb.
Bob
fuzes45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:53 AM   #8
jimvette59
Senior Member
 
jimvette59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perry OH
Posts: 952
Default Re: Not running

Gas line in to far into the carb. It should only stick out 1/4" past the ferrel.
jimvette59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:54 AM   #9
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Not running

remove a spark plug lead on the spark plug. Place teh free end about 1/4 inch from teh plug terminal. turn car over and see what happens with the spark. This may tell you if it is ignition related.
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 10:04 AM   #10
rocket1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland Park,N.J.
Posts: 966
Default Re: Not running

going back to square one was it running good before you worked on it?
rocket1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 11:58 AM   #11
veggie
Member
 
veggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Clinton Ct.
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to veggie Send a message via Yahoo to veggie
Default Re: Not running

The car stopped while driving it. I had to tow it home. This happened last fall.
Thanks for your interest.
veggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 03:19 PM   #12
Mulletwagon
Senior Member
 
Mulletwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 319
Default Re: Not running

Maybe the pencil filter on the shut off valve is clogged. Disconnect the fuel line at the carb and ensure there is flow. If flow is good investigate electrical. Begin by checking for a spark at the plugs during the no-start. Should be something simple to track down. Good Luck - and please share the fix.
Mulletwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 05:12 PM   #13
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,876
Default Re: Not running

So it runs for 10 seconds and dies? Let it sit awhile and will it run for 10 seconds and die again/,,,fuel
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 05:21 PM   #14
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,812
Default Re: Not running

It could be the condenser .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 05:41 PM   #15
Charlie Stephens
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 6,476
Default Re: Not running

Ten seconds sounds like it is using up the fuel in the carburetor bowl and something is restricting the flow to refill it fast enough to continue running.

Charlie Stephens
Charlie Stephens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 06:30 PM   #16
Sunnybrook Farm
Senior Member
 
Sunnybrook Farm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not running

I would unscrew the gas line from the carb then turn on the fuel and see if fuel runs out. If it does then it is something to do with the float of the float valve sticking. If you have a spare condenser then change it to rule that out, I had one mess up but it ran for a long time before flaking out but you could have a strange one. Sorry to give you a bunch of different things but I just start eliminating things before swapping out a lot of parts but I would have swapped to a spare carb if one was available.
Sunnybrook Farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 06:33 PM   #17
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,965
Default Re: Not running

I also suspect a fuel blockage. The first test I'd do is as Fuzes45 says in post #7. It could be a sticky float valve, crap in a fuel line (including rust) or clogged sediment bowl. I think it would take more than 10 seconds for a blocked vent in the fuel cap to stop the engine. I had it once and drove miles before it started showed up.
Please let us know what you do to fix it.
__________________
If schools stay closed too long, parents will find a vaccine before the scientists.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2020, 09:06 AM   #18
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Not running

I'm one for bad condenser too. Get a couple of blow proof condensers to keep a spare. They are a lot easier to change than the carburetor. The coil could also have a problem too but I replace the easiest suspected thing first then move on from there. That is a basic principle in troubleshooting. Coils can work while cold but the circuit will open on one with a bad winding after it heats up and expands.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2020, 07:43 AM   #19
dsarge390
Member
 
dsarge390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 47
Default Re: Not running

PM Sent
dsarge390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2020, 11:20 PM   #20
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 1,887
Default Re: Not running

What happened?? We would like to know if you solved the problem?
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.