Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2018, 08:17 PM   #1
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default 35 brake switch help

Hey fellas,

So my brake lights stopped working. Iím thinking it a the switch so I thought Iíd make sure I get all the right stuff. When searching for brake light switches for a 35 ford coupe two different kinds show up.

This one



And this one



Photo of my master




My brake cylinder uses the second one so has my 35 master been swapped with something else? If so with what?

Do I need to replace anything else besides the switch? What inside makes the switch work?

Thanks!
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 08:23 PM   #2
FlatheadTed
Senior Member
 
FlatheadTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,987
Send a message via AIM to FlatheadTed
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Yes its been swapped. Its hard to tell what MC you have going by the photos ,touch the two wires together that should activate the light
__________________
http://www.flatheadted.com
FlatheadTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-06-2018, 08:49 PM   #3
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,580
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

"My brake cylinder uses the second one so has my 35 master been swapped with something else? If so with what? "

1935 Fords were mechanical brakes, Ford didn't go to hydraulic brakes until 1939. Your brake system has been converted to a later hydraulic system. Some people like the hydraulic brake switch and some don't. The photos you posted show an original style mechanical brake switch (the repos are considered junk by some!) and a later (post 1939) hydraulic switch.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 09:28 PM   #4
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,060
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

I've got to start digging into the same problem on my 35 PU this week. I have hydraulics, use Type 5 brake fluid and a Harley low pressure switch.


Rotts of Ruck with yours.
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 10:27 PM   #5
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawson Cox View Post
I've got to start digging into the same problem on my 35 PU this week. I have hydraulics, use Type 5 brake fluid and a Harley low pressure switch.


Rotts of Ruck with yours.
What is a Harley low pressure switch?
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 10:52 PM   #6
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,132
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_909 View Post
What is a Harley low pressure switch?
A Harley Davidson uses a hydraulic brake light switch essentially identical to the one you have pictured, but some say that the Harley switch is a lot better quality than the POS switches they sell at most auto parts stores, especially when using silicone (DOT 5) fluid. It's just a simple ON/OFF switch that closes the contacts when even low pressure is applied. DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


I may not be the BEST, but I'll do 'til he gets here!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 12:18 AM   #7
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8COOPMAN View Post
A Harley Davidson uses a hydraulic brake light switch essentially identical to the one you have pictured, but some say that the Harley switch is a lot better quality than the POS switches they sell at most auto parts stores, especially when using silicone (DOT 5) fluid. It's just a simple ON/OFF switch that closes the contacts when even low pressure is applied. DD
Thank you! Iíll stop by the Harley shop tomorrow!
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 05:14 AM   #8
Greg58
Senior Member
 
Greg58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Newnan Georgia
Posts: 179
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Test the wiring first, remove both wires and add a jumper wire between both wires, you may have a blown fuse. If you have a multimeter you can also check for voltage going to the switch.
__________________
Greg
Greg58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 09:50 AM   #9
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg58 View Post
Test the wiring first, remove both wires and add a jumper wire between both wires, you may have a blown fuse. If you have a multimeter you can also check for voltage going to the switch.
Will do!
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 10:41 AM   #10
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Okay I used a jumper wire and the brake lights worked. Off to get a new switch.
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 11:23 AM   #11
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Side question,

Because the switch is vertical and not horizontal how do you get the air bubble out? I would assume air would get trapped in the switch when installing.
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 12:17 PM   #12
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,060
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

No problem You're overthinking the situation.
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 12:21 PM   #13
KGS
Senior Member
 
KGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Schooley's Mountain
Posts: 375
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_909 View Post
Side question,

Because the switch is vertical and not horizontal how do you get the air bubble out? I would assume air would get trapped in the switch when installing.

Not enough air to be concerned about.
Just change it out.
Be sure to get the Harley switch. In addition
to being impervious to DOT5 fluid, it takes less
pressure to activate. (at least mine does).
KGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 02:06 PM   #14
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawson Cox View Post
No problem You're overthinking the situation.
Maybe, just always thought air in the brake system is not good.
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 02:07 PM   #15
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGS View Post
Not enough air to be concerned about.
Just change it out.
Be sure to get the Harley switch. In addition
to being impervious to DOT5 fluid, it takes less
pressure to activate. (at least mine does).

Bought both the Harley and the cheap replacement. I take it the Harley is low pressure due to the smaller hole?

Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 02:19 PM   #16
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,132
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

The hole size has nothing to do with the pressure necessary to actuate. Kind of like 1/4" vs 3 /16" brake line won't show a difference in pressures. PSI is PSI, throughout a container system. That Harley switch is just designed with less pressure being necessary to make it work (,a lighter spring, probably). DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


I may not be the BEST, but I'll do 'til he gets here!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 03:02 PM   #17
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Okay so everything works with the new Harley switch however thereís another issue that I noticed.

When I turn on the lights the tailights are lit up to the same brightness. When I turn them off and step on the pedal the driverside taillight doesnít light up as bright as the passenger side. Itís really dim.

This also happened when I used the jump wire to test if the switch was bad. Any ideas about that?
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 03:07 PM   #18
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 12,580
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Tail lights and brake lights are two different filaments in one bulb. Might try swapping the bulbs side to side, but it could more resistance in the brake wire on the one side. Do you have turn signals, if so that could be where the difference is coming from.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 03:27 PM   #19
Solo_909
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorCal East Bay
Posts: 397
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
Tail lights and brake lights are two different filaments in one bulb. Might try swapping the bulbs side to side, but it could more resistance in the brake wire on the one side. Do you have turn signals, if so that could be where the difference is coming from.
Okay Iíll swap out the bulbs and go from there. This wasnít an issue before the switch problem however I was messing around the the DS light a couple of weeks ago.
Solo_909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 03:56 PM   #20
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 5,132
Default Re: 35 brake switch help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_909 View Post
Okay so everything works with the new Harley switch however thereís another issue that I noticed.

When I turn on the lights the tailights are lit up to the same brightness. When I turn them off and step on the pedal the driverside taillight doesnít light up as bright as the passenger side. Itís really dim.

This also happened when I used the jump wire to test if the switch was bad. Any ideas about that?
Try this.....since the driver side is the problem side, remove the red lens on the driver side light. Remove the bulb. Turn on the running lights. With a volt meter, determine WHICH of the two bulb contacts is hot. Now, turn the running lights off. Have someone step on the brake pedal. Use your meter to determine WHICH bulb contact is hot now. IF it's the same contact as before with the running lights, at least we know WHY it's messed-up, and we'll find out where the wires are crossed via troubleshooting. First, what are the results of your meter tests? DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


I may not be the BEST, but I'll do 'til he gets here!




V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.