Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2019, 08:17 AM   #1
1930deluxe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Garretson S.D.
Posts: 110
Default 1930 Generator

My voltage gauge is not working. Is my wires hooked up right on my generator?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ModelAGenerator 019.jpg (25.6 KB, 62 views)
1930deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:20 AM   #2
midgetracer
Senior Member
 
midgetracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bismarck ND
Posts: 891
Default Re: 1930 Generator

It appears to be hooked up right.
midgetracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-22-2019, 10:42 AM   #3
jrelliott
Senior Member
 
jrelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pine, AZ
Posts: 651
Default Re: 1930 Generator

The meter in Model A is an amp meter which shows the direction of current flow from the generator to the battery when a positive reading is seen, or a negative reading when the battery is supplying more current than the generator is putting out. Your connections look correct.
jrelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 10:58 AM   #4
sethkestenbaum
Senior Member
 
sethkestenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NYC with car in Rockland County
Posts: 599
Default Re: 1930 Generator

Do you show charge if you bypass the cutout?
__________________
Seth Kestenbaum
www.oldcarroadtrip.com
sethkestenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 11:22 AM   #5
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: 1930 Generator

Check starter-mounted fuse, if there is one.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 11:23 AM   #6
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,155
Default Re: 1930 Generator

Turn on the lights and see if it goes toward discharge. The reproduction amp meters are not too well made. The originals work very well but they can wear out. Generators can wear out too. Batteries will go bad if they set too long.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 11:41 AM   #7
30 Closed Cab PU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Default Re: 1930 Generator

You did mean ammeter, yes?
30 Closed Cab PU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 12:04 PM   #8
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,347
Default Re: 1930 Generator

I would first check the adjustment of the adjustable third brush in the generator . Push down on the aDJUSTABLE brush to increase charge rate . raise the adjustable brush to decrease charge rate .. If the adjustable brush is raised all the way up , it could be the problem . Charge rate is adjustable on the model A generators .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 12:30 PM   #9
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: 1930 Generator

What is meant by the ammeter not working ?

Turn on the lights, does it show a discharge ? If it does its working.

If you loosen the fam belt and feed power to the generator it should run like a motor very slowly. Thats a fairly good indicator that the generator is good. If your cut-out is an original type the generator output is constant if the engine is running fast enough.
So with the engine running the ammeter should show a charge if the engine is running at a fast idle speed. As Purdy mentioned the third brush is adjustable and accessed by removing the rear band. If the generator does motor when powered but not show a charge on the ammeter then either the cut-out is bad or maybe the system just needs to be polarized. To do that just touch a jumper wire across the 2 cut-out terminals for a nano-second and let us know what happens.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 05:25 PM   #10
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 7,347
Default Re: 1930 Generator

Right on !!!
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:16 PM   #11
1930deluxe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Garretson S.D.
Posts: 110
Default Re: 1930 Generator

Yes, amp meter
1930deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:19 PM   #12
1930deluxe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Garretson S.D.
Posts: 110
Default Re: 1930 Generator

What does the starter fuse do?
1930deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:21 PM   #13
1930deluxe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Garretson S.D.
Posts: 110
Default Re: 1930 Generator

I took the generator Van's Electric and it tested good it is charging.
1930deluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 05:55 AM   #14
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: 1930 Generator

Then it may now be OK, it was probably polarized during the testing. It could have been checked as stated.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.