Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-14-2012, 05:26 PM   #1
lance leblanc

Default Cross member Blues

Well things are'nt so cheerful around my garage today. Looks as if the front cross member has seen its better days.

From this picture would anyone think that repairing the existing cross member would even be an option vs replacing the cross member all together.
And what of the quality of reproduction pieces, I understand that original is best but are there many quality ones available?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2505.jpg (60.3 KB, 389 views)
lance leblanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
gpits68

Default Re: Cross member Blues

I just recently replaced mine.Arizona Model A had a few to select from.I ,with the help of 5 guys,replaced the rivets in the cross member .i got my frame rivets from McMaster and Carr for a great price and had plenty to practice with.Also plenty of information here on riveting.
gpits68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:49 PM   #3
Keith True

Myself,I would far rather fix that one than rivet another one in.I clamp a piece of copper under it,then just fill the hole with weld from my wire feed.The steel has to be CLEAN,no rust,paint,etc.The steel in a Model A frame welds like butter.You can just get a big puddle swirling around in there,melting it into the solid parent metal,and follow right up the cracks.If done right you can swirl a puddle right up the crack and beyond,leaving no crack at all to start again.I don't try to save the center bolt hole either,I weld it right shut and drill a new one.You can make it square again with a file in less than ten minutes.Now,if the rivets are loose and need redoing,I would just replace the crossmember.
Keith True is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:54 PM   #4
Pete