Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2020, 01:38 AM   #1
ironbuttjohn
Member
 
ironbuttjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 67
Default torque for master cylinder bolt

What is the amount of torque used on the bolt on the back to the '48 master cylinder? This is the one that holds the brake lines on.
ironbuttjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 05:49 AM   #2
51 MERC-CT
Senior Member
 
51 MERC-CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hartford, Ct
Posts: 4,679
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Have never seen a torque value for it.
__________________
DON'T RECALL DOING SOMETHING FOR MYSELF BASED ON SOMEONE ELSE'S LIKES OR DISLIKES

Last edited by 51 MERC-CT; 01-09-2020 at 06:15 AM.
51 MERC-CT is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-09-2020, 06:09 AM   #3
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,145
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

I believe he's talking about the 1/2" threaded banjo bolt that holds the brass distribution block on the back of the cylinder. I don't know the torque. I just use a suitable sized spanner (wrench) and make sure it is tight.

Sometimes you need to use judgement and develop a feel.

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 09:36 AM   #4
richard crow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,390
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

if your using dot 5 use new brass washers & tighten as tight as a craps ass
richard crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 10:21 AM   #5
fordv8j
Senior Member
 
fordv8j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 174
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard crow View Post
if your using dot 5 use new brass washers & tighten as tight as a craps ass
be careful, I twisted one off...make sure you have the copper washers on both sides of fitting
fordv8j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 10:28 AM   #6
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 7,449
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

No specified torque. Just tighten it up enough to seat and seal in the copper washers.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 10:36 AM   #7
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,788
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

If copper washers are new, they should be annealed soft. If they are old, they need to be annealed. It's best to use new but you can heat them up red hot and quench them in water to anneal them. It doesn't take much torque to get a seal. Hollow banjo bolts break easily so snug them good and see if they leak. Tighten until they don't leak within good reason. That's about the best I can say.
rotorwrench is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 08:47 AM   #8
Frank Miller
Senior Member
 
Frank Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 1,705
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

The other thing that is easy to break is the brass fitting when screwing in the brake light switch. I had a hell of a time sealing the one on my 49. Never thought to anneal them first.
__________________
“The technique of infamy is to start two lies at once and get people arguing heatedly over which is true.” ~ Ezra Pound
Frank Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 02:01 AM   #9
Newc
Senior Member
 
Newc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,056
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Rotorwrench has it down. Aircraft spark plugs use copper washers, and we kept a supply of annealed ones for each job. Trainees got to do it. Newc
Newc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 07:13 AM   #10
glennpm
Senior Member
 
glennpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wiscasset, Maine
Posts: 774
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

For annealing copper, rub some hand soap on the washer. Heat it up and when the soap blackens or turns to soot, you have the right temperature. Copper can either be air on water/oil quenched and with keep the anneal, softness, either way. Water quench will remove the black oxide.
glennpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 09:40 PM   #11
PeteVS
Senior Member
 
PeteVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FP, NJ
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennpm View Post
For annealing copper, rub some hand soap on the washer. Heat it up and when the soap blackens or turns to soot, you have the right temperature. Copper can either be air on water/oil quenched and with keep the anneal, softness, either way. Water quench will remove the black oxide.
Thanks! I was just going to ask!
__________________
Don't never get rid of nuthin!
PeteVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 07:58 AM   #12
ironbuttjohn
Member
 
ironbuttjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 67
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Thanks to everyone for the comments. I have broken this bolt in the pass on another project, real pain in the butt.
ironbuttjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 09:36 AM   #13
Mart
Senior Member
 
Mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Solihull, England.
Posts: 6,145
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Well, the torque is a bit less than what you used last time then.

Sorry couldn't resist.

Mart.
Mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 03:44 PM   #14
PeteVS
Senior Member
 
PeteVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FP, NJ
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Here's a link to how to anneal copper...
https://www.wikihow.com/Anneal-Copper
__________________
Don't never get rid of nuthin!
PeteVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 06:57 PM   #15
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 5,605
Wink Re: torque for master cylinder bolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart View Post
Well, the torque is a bit less than what you used last time then.

Sorry couldn't resist.

Mart.
Great observation and funny!
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".

Last edited by Kube; 01-18-2020 at 07:06 PM.
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.