Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-13-2013, 02:44 PM   #1
29pickup

Question Horn tests

Hello, this is my first post, so bear with me!
I recently purchased a 29 closed cab pickup. I have wanted a classic pickup for years and finally found one for sale. Bought it from my neighbors across the street from my home.(go figure).
I have been working on mostly electrical parts (Headlights, break light switch ect) And Im finding that the ground and contact points are fixing my problems. My horn does not work and whould like to know what tests I can run on the horn system to see if it is in working order before I take it apart.
(Which lead shoud be hot? If horn botton is working ect.) Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
29pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:03 PM   #2
jb_supermoto

Default Re: Horn tests

I'm pretty new at this as well, but look at your ammeter while you push the horn button. If the needle moves to discharge slightly when you push the button, then the button and the wires to the horn are likely ok. There is current draw, but the horn may not be turning. Pull the back cover off the horn and have a look. It gets pretty obvious when you take the cover off. It's only one screw.. Good luck!
Old 02-13-2013, 04:03 PM   #3
Tom Wesenberg

I would remove the horn cover and unplug one wire and ground the horn terminal. If you don't get the horn to blow, or at least a spark, then plug the wire back in and remove the other wire and ground that terminal, and try it again. If you have a volt meter it's easy to test which wire is hot. It doesn't matter which wire goes to which terminal. The ground terminal leads to the horn button, and quite often the horn button doesn't make a good ground due to years of corrosion from not being used. I push the button down and roll it around as it's pushed, and sometimes this will get the horn blowing again.