Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-11-2018, 09:40 AM   #1
Zephyr4

Question 31 Tudor new brake rods need to bend?

Help! I'm fairly new to this old stuff and this forum.

So I have a 31 tudor with a desperate need for some brakes. It's been in a barn for who knows how long. One rear service brake rod was still attached to the car. So I buy a new set of rods. Fronts are no problem. Rears though aren't right and I don't know why.

With the front clevis pin in, the rear eye on the rod doesn't align with the eyes on the brake lever arm and you can't get the pin in. The rod is at an angle, but the arm is more or less parallel with the chassis rails.
20180411_142638.jpg

If I attach the rear end of the rod (which is a struggle) and put the front on the cross shaft, the rod is bent. Can't be right.
20180411_141944.jpg

The other side is exactly the same. All I could think was that the end of the rod would need to be bent, so I dug out the one original rod and the end is bent, but that still doesn't seem right to me.
20180411_150550.jpg

I haven't touch the arms or anything else on the brakes, they're exactly as the car came to me. Could the arms have been swapped over to the wrong sides maybe?
Zephyr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 09:48 AM   #2
redmodelt

Default Re: 31 Tudor new brake rods need to bend?

Yes they were swapped. If you are going to drive the car, I highly suggest that every thing needs to come apart and inspected then repaired as needed. Brakes are something that repair should not be avoided. DO IT RIGHT YOU AND YOUR PASSENGERS LIFE DEPEND ON THEM.
Old 04-11-2018, 09:54 AM   #3
Tacoma Bob