Go Back   The Ford Barn > The Swap Meet > For Sale > Early V8

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-18-2011, 09:02 PM   #1
Cruisin40

Default '40 Ford Pickup for Restoration or Rod

City: Yorktown
State: Virginia
Price: $5000

For Sale is one 1940 Ford Pickup truck in very good unrestored condition. It is perfect for a restoration or a street rod. It has a year and model appropriate flathead engine, which turns over freely by hand. The toploader transmission shifts easily through all gears and has the desirable swans-neck shifter. The truck rolls easily.

The truck has the original steering column with the key! It has the original seat which needs reupholstering.

It also has the original heater, windshield garnish molding, headliner retainers that go above the doors and many other small, hard to find parts. I have been collecting and working on '40 Fords for the past 30 years and this is the most complete original truck I have ever seen. I would not be selling it if I hadn't been laid off from work in January.

It has rust in the usual places. It needs floorboards and the cab corners need repair though I don't think they are bad enough to need to be replaced. The bed side by the spare tire mount is rusted through but should be an easy fix. The rest of the bed is straight and solid with one small area of rust in the bed floor.

The undercarriage and frame have surface rust but are not rusted through anywhere that I could see. The kickups over the rear wheels and the x-member are in excellent condition.

The door hinges are tight, with no rust or slop in them.

The doors are in excellent condition with no rust anywhere. The doors need new outside handles but both open and close easily. The windows roll up and down.

The front fenders have no rust but need minor body work to straighten them out.