Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-28-2011, 08:47 AM   #1
Ron Lachniet

Default Electronic ignitions

What do you think about going to electronic ignitions like the FS. It seems like this could eliminate a lot of spark problems.
Ron Lachniet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:18 AM   #2
ChicagoBob

Default Re: Electronic ignitions

I've been running a Remund distributor since 2004. Cost $275. Works very well. Auto advance. Instant starts, even with the crank. Engine seems to run smoother and stronger than with the stock distributor, though mine might have been worn.

On the other hand, I'm still using points in my '78 Suzuki.

Last edited by ChicagoBob; 04-28-2011 at 09:19 AM. Reason: Addl info
ChicagoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:35 AM   #3
BRENT in 10-uh-C

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Lachniet View Post
What do you think about going to electronic ignitions like the FS. It seems like this could eliminate a lot of spark problems.
While I am a proponent for FS Ignitions, ...I am intrigued (curious??) when you say it "...could eliminate a lot of spark problems". Would you be so kind as to clarify exactly what you are saying or what that means so I can determine in my own mind whether the Ignitor set-up is right for you. Thanks.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:42 AM   #4
Jim Brierley

The Model A ignition system is a cause of many driving problems, I recommend the FS units.
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 09:58 AM   #5
CarlG

For those of you that have used both, pro's and con's between FS & NuRex??
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:45 AM   #6
Loyd Nix

I installed a FS "Zipper" in my "30 Tudor and noticed a definite improvement in performance. Plus FS is a pleasure to do business with.