Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2021, 09:26 PM   #21
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Thanks. It popped once today
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 06:30 PM   #22
39portlander
Senior Member
 
39portlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Suth'N Maine
Posts: 1,879
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Some pictures Clem, quite a few but it should help. The first picture show the throttle and choke all in, mostly there after warm up and while driving. They equally stick out about a 1/4".

While closed measurements from the firewall grommet down to the rod ends, throttle approx 16 1/8" and choke approx 14 3/8"

Several pictures of the rods extending down to the carb and the last two tape measure pictures show my rods pulled out as if I were to start the truck. Throttle 15 1/4" and choke 12 3/4".

I will say The throttle rod always wants to close back down but I just manually keep it open some while the engine warms. My garage is heated and typically close that choke down to minimum, less than a minute.

The last few pictures give you an idea of the bends out the fire wall to the carb.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0359.JPG (76.2 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0361.JPG (96.3 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0363.JPG (91.6 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0364.JPG (110.4 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0365.JPG (95.8 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0366.JPG (115.8 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0367.JPG (92.1 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0368.JPG (105.2 KB, 36 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0369.JPG (104.6 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0370.JPG (94.0 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by 39portlander; 03-18-2021 at 03:20 PM.
39portlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-19-2021, 09:33 PM   #23
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

You guys are such a great help. Particularly in the time of no home visits. I have 3 X 91-99Fod cards. One on my '39 one on the 40' Merc and spare. At the 9199 on the Merc, I looked at the position of the round retainer on the throttle shaft(can't find the name of to.) The nut on the '39 was in the other position from the one on the '40 Merc. The '39 has started every time without choke since. I do have to be sure the c/t are full in. I'm hoping it got it right. Should be a good day tomorrow to go around the block
Thanks again. Clem
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2021, 11:10 AM   #24
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Still trouble. I'm hopping for a gas runtoday.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 01:02 PM   #25
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Every time I start it, there is a backfire up thru the carb. Could I have a burnt valve of maybe carbon on the valve seat?
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 01:21 PM   #26
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 539
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
Every time I start it, there is a backfire up thru the carb. Could I have a burnt valve of maybe carbon on the valve seat?

When is the last time that carb was rebuilt or saw any attention? Maybe it's just carb problems, nothing to do with the choke and throttle rods?

Maybe try one of your known working carbs from either of your other working vehicles.
__________________
Sometimes, ingenuity gets in the way of sense and sanity.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 02:10 PM   #27
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

I rebuilt that carb and the spare 2-3 years ago. All was fine until a couple of months back
Thanks
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 01:16 AM   #28
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

The rod connecting the two butterfly disks connects to linkage on the outside of the carb(91-99) and is secured by a round "NUT" with two positions for locking in place. I don't have info as to which of the two options slots to use. I have tried both slots and continue to get a backfire up thru the carb.
Assistance, please.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 09:06 AM   #29
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 539
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
The rod connecting the two butterfly disks connects to linkage on the outside of the carb(91-99) and is secured by a round "NUT" with two positions for locking in place. I don't have info as to which of the two options slots to use. I have tried both slots and continue to get a backfire up thru the carb.
Assistance, please.
Is this the round "NUT" you are referencing? If so, there is not 2 locking positions. 1st position allows the T end of the shaft to pass thru and the 2nd position locks it in place. There should be a spring inbehind it. If you push in and turn it to the unlocked position, it should shoot off into your hand. If the "nut" stays on, no matter what slot your in, something going on....

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20201010_193024.jpg (60.9 KB, 91 views)
__________________
Sometimes, ingenuity gets in the way of sense and sanity.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 02:18 PM   #30
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Thanks. I'll go check
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 09:53 PM   #31
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 8,011
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Being an "8BA guy", I had never seen this type of linkage, although I do know my way around the later 94's. When I went to rebuild one of these, I couldn't get it apart and didn't want to force it. I asked for advice here, and found out what to do. It did take quite a bit of force to get it to move; more than I would have originally thought.
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 12:25 AM   #32
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,229
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

Still on cold starts, something binds causing the engine to speed up. I control the high rpm with the ign switch. Today
it took several trys before the engine would no race up. Driving me nuts.
The engine oil was changed in late spring and is now black again. Am I loosening deposits by the hi rpm?

My fresh oil got black in a few short drives. Is the higher rpm loosening
oil deposits?
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 10:42 AM   #33
baceves
Junior Member
 
baceves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Choke/throttle rods set up

I also had issues with my choke/throttle on my 47 Ford. The choke would always slide causing the engine to shut down. On the firewall 2 metal L clips hold the choke and throttle in place. Most vintage ford stores dont sell these. Most people will tend to fabricate the L clips. Once i got a pair of these L clips my choke stays perfectly in place as i drive my car for over an hour or so. Also, i never bother with the throttle, i dont move it or nothing. For me, the choke is the only rod i move when needed.
baceves is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.