Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2020, 07:57 PM   #1
rfitzpatrick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 313
Default Horn

I'll get the horn working and after the couple months driving around Town--
it slowly will only chirp. Do they require that much attention, or what.
It's not a Model A if the horn don't work right -- and yes, it's been rebuilted/oiled.
rfitzpatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 10:03 PM   #2
Mike Peters
Senior Member
 
Mike Peters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South East Wisconsin
Posts: 901
Default Re: Horn

Your generator needs to be charging to get a good horn sound. Otherwise, loosen the adjuster screw one or two clicks on the back of your horn and see if that helps.
Mike Peters is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-01-2020, 06:10 AM   #3
Werner
Senior Member
 
Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany, near Aachen
Posts: 883
Default Re: Horn

Guten Morgen,

it is also important that the copper collector and the motor brushes are free of grease and smooth.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1000478.jpg (50.0 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Beste Gruesse aus Deutschland,
Werner


Ford Model A Roadster, 1928
Citroen 11 CV, 1947
Hercules NSU-Wankel Rotary Engine, 1976 (Canadian version)
Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 06:11 AM   #4
30ccpickup
Senior Member
 
30ccpickup's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wakarusa, IN
Posts: 845
Default Re: Horn

I use sewing machine oil to oil my horn. The outside temperature plays a part in the horn efficiency. If I know I'm going to be using it: I back off the screw, press the button and spin the motor to warm up and thin the oil. I then retune it by adjusting the screw.
__________________
http://MODELABASICS.com/ How Things Work on a Model "A" Ford

Fordbarners, Feel free to use the pictures on my site to answer questions and create tutorials/tech articles.
30ccpickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 06:18 AM   #5
aermotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 800
Default Re: Horn

My horn has stopped working, all of the above suggestions have been accomplished. In the dark I noticed occasional small sparks behind the horn button when pushed and a slight sound from the horn. Suggestions?

John
aermotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 11:24 AM   #6
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 759
Default Re: Horn

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aermotor View Post
My horn has stopped working, all of the above suggestions have been accomplished. In the dark I noticed occasional small sparks behind the horn button when pushed and a slight sound from the horn. Suggestions?

John
Check condition of brushes and springs, may not be making good contact. Sparking you describe is normal without a horn relay.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 05:46 PM   #7
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: Horn

If you mean, by horn button, the button in the middle of the steering wheel, sounds like it’s rusty, or corroded underneath there. I have just held the horn button down, and rotated it with the palm of my hand to try and clean it, which helped. I am not sure how you could see sparks from there though?
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 06:52 PM   #8
JohnB15632
Senior Member
 
JohnB15632's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Export, PA (Outside of Pittsburgh)
Posts: 517
Default Re: Horn

On my A, I added a ground wire for all six of the lights, the horn, and finally the engine to the frame. Grounds or lack there of, can be real gremlins.
JohnB15632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 08:45 PM   #9
Chuck Sea/Tac
Senior Member
 
Chuck Sea/Tac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between Seattle & Tacoma
Posts: 2,032
Default Re: Horn

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnB15632 View Post
On my A, I added a ground wire for all six of the lights, the horn, and finally the engine to the frame. Grounds or lack there of, can be real gremlins.
The horn button is the grd. What did you change?
Chuck Sea/Tac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.