Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model T (1909-1927)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-21-2014, 07:37 PM   #1
fords

Default '13 Model T starting

I am new to the Ford Barn and look forward to this whole thing.
My 1913 T all of a sudden stopped starting and is kicking back on the hand crank at the 11 o'clock position. Before this -it would start fine and would usually start at the 12:30 position on the hand crank. I just ordered new plugs(Champions) and will set them to .25. Any other input from anyone would be much appreciated.
fords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:15 PM   #2
fords

Default Re: '13 Model T starting

Thanks for the reply. I did not tell the whole staory - Based on what I have been reading the last week is the Spark lever (timing) should be fully retarded. Before my starting issues I have fully advanced the lever and left the throttle at idle and never had any problem starting. You are correct I will check timing and commutator connections.
Can I use the method of notches on crank gear at 3 and 9 o'clock position to set TDC or could you suggest a better/different method?
Old 02-21-2014, 09:53 PM   #3
redmodelt

I am guessing you are using a battery to start on? You want it just past 3 and 9 just breaking over the top on your power stroke. If you are starting on battery push the spark lever all the way up. Disconnect the rod at the timer. Turn the key on, turn the timer counterclock wise a little or till it stops buzzing, then bring back clockwise till just starts buzzing. Turn the key off. Now bend the timer rod till it slips in the hole. That should have it where you need. Never start with the timer lever pulled down, you are making it fire before top dead center.
Pull the spark plugs and check that No 1 is on power stroke. Put your thumb on the hole and crank till you feel compression. Bring the piston all the way to the top and watch till it just starts down.