Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2020, 07:52 AM   #21
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,861
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

But, the 3 of you and many more are still here...............................
Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2020, 08:19 AM   #22
sunshine
Senior Member
 
sunshine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SUNSHINE MD.
Posts: 312
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Clem on my 39 pkp. My C T throttle rods come straight out through the fire wall and. Are bent down to engage the carb.This truck was prettymuch unmolested when I got it , but who knows . I have nothing to compare it to . They work . But it is not a show truck. SUNSHINE .
sunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-28-2020, 11:27 AM   #23
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,564
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1931 flamingo View Post
But, the 3 of you and many more are still here...............................
Paul in CT
In my case, in body, not always sure about in mind!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2020, 11:33 PM   #24
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

I've got something connected wrong on my choke/throttle setup. The throttle is very stiff. When the choke is pulled full out for starting, the engine races as the starts. It is a '39 pickup 85 carb # 94, 91-99. The choke does not push full in.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 12:02 AM   #25
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 362
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Can you post a pic of the rods connecting to the carb?

I have to press the gas pedal on mine to move the throttle rod or it is very stiff. Do you have the lever flipped the wrong way that connects to the throttle rod? So it is engaged and causes the engine to race when starting or does it only race when starting with choke On?

Remember the split pieces of vacuum hose you put in the cab on the choke rod. Did that fall off so the rod is not pushing full in but can't because it's already fully disengaged the choke?

Last edited by Will D; 12-18-2020 at 12:12 AM.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2020, 06:24 AM   #26
Terry,OH
Senior Member
 
Terry,OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,629
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
The 91-99 is the correct Carb. for your engine and year. You seem to be ignoring people that have asked you for a photo, so I will not ask. You should know both rods are adjustable.
Terry,OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 11:02 PM   #27
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

i don't know what you can see by a photo, but I will try. I have a used original rods from Fordbarn sources and will try to remove the old ones. I will leave the bends in place. The other day the improperly positioned T rod caused a powerful backfire. I hope the gaskets held
Merry Christmas,
Clem

Theroutside arrangements for the '39 and the 40Merc are the same.

Last edited by Clem Clement; 12-22-2020 at 05:47 PM.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2020, 02:37 PM   #28
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Per request I have some pictures. I don't knowhow to post them. If some one would kindly pm me with their email, I will send them. TIA
Merry Christmas, Clem
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2020, 07:24 PM   #29
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,564
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

I can post them: jseery@ymail.com
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2020, 02:26 PM   #30
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 362
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Pictures of Clems throttle/ choke setup.









Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5082.jpg (89.5 KB, 137 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5084.jpg (54.3 KB, 136 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5086.jpg (77.0 KB, 135 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5088.jpg (71.1 KB, 134 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5089.jpg (59.4 KB, 134 views)
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2020, 03:10 PM   #31
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Thanks Will D for posting. You can see the Choke rod sticks out further into the cabin. The choke rod has been brazed back when. My next step is to remove the choke rod and replace it with an original rod from a kind Fordbarner, leaving the bends in place. We'll see how it fits.
Thanks all.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2020, 10:46 PM   #32
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Fellow eV-8 Clubber, Dave Gunnarson, called with comments on my C/T issues. He has a build well underway for a 35 Ford big truck. He has found that over the large number of restored trucks the choke/throttle rods are all different. He has visited the Ford Articles and has the blue- prints for his truck, so he knows exactly what it calls for including the radius of the bends on the rods.

He also commented that many of our old Fords have had replacement engines, carbs, intake manifolds, etc. Most times the C/T are not changed, just bent to fit.

I remember when I got the 39, there were spare carbs with it. Another fellow Clubber, Cliff Green while exploring the truck, noted one fit his 40, so off to him it went. Maybe it had fit the C/T rods I have.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 08:33 AM   #33
Terry,OH
Senior Member
 
Terry,OH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,629
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

With bends in the rods close to the firewall and pieces of tubing, around the rods, replacing the rubber grommet that has slid down the choke rod and is now misplaced next to the Carb. The choke rod is too long resulting in the knob being out of place. The bends and the rubber tubing are preventing the throttle rod from moving.
Terry,OH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 03:25 PM   #34
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Upon further review the choke rod has been brazed. there is a steel sleeve involved. I'm challenged to remove the grommet. It looks like I will have to cut it apart.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2020, 06:27 PM   #35
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Breakthru!!!! Thanks all. I sat down to make progress. I worked the choke rod's grommet out by rotating it and getting the inside edge to move past the edge of the hole. More working got this rear grommet off. I did not try to straighten the choke rod I bought on Fordbarn many years ago. I polished the section under the dash and worked the crocked rod into position. The rod has two by 90deg. bends. Things lineup and the choke works smoothly.
The throttle rod is in. grommets are a bit harder to install.

I found that White ink pen will freshen the letters on the C/T knobs. Wipe it on and wipe it off after a few seconds.


i still can't understand why many of these rods are bent in various shapes to fit.

thanks for everyone's help. I'm thrilled

Last edited by Clem Clement; 12-31-2020 at 05:53 PM.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2020, 12:29 PM   #36
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 362
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
Breakthru!!!! Thanks all. I set done to make progress. I worked the choke rod's grommet out by rotating it and getting the inside edge to move past the edge of the hole. More working got this rear grommet off. I did not try to straighten the choke rod I b ought on Fordbarn many years ago. I polished the section under the dash and worked the crocked rod into position The rod has two by 90deg. bends. Things lineup and the choke works smoothly.
The throttle rod is in. grommets are a bit harder to install.

I found that White ink pen will freshen the letters on the C/T knobs. Wipe it on and wipe it off after a few seconds.


i still can't understand why many of these rods are bent in various shapes to fit.

thanks for everyone's help. I'm thrilled
Good news. Glad you got er figured.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2021, 10:46 PM   #37
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Thanks.
Happy New Year. Clem
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 10:13 AM   #38
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 3,083
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

My Throttle seams to work its way to full in as well. I don't know why.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.