Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-16-2017, 05:12 AM   #1
30aadoodlebug

Default Pulling Engine on a 50 Coupe

As I stated in a previous post, I'm new to the whole flathead thing, so please pardon my stupid newbie questions.

I just bought a donor car (50 custom coupe) for the 50 country squire I'm restoring/bringing back to stock. I need to pull the engine and tranny from it, but just wanted to see if there were any secrets/tips I should know about before loosening the mounts and going for it. My main question/concern is what is the best place to attach the hoist? And once the engine is out, how to mount it to a standard engine stand?

The engine in the donor car is complete and in great shape; like it's predecessor four banger, I think it just needs the usual tear-down, mega cleaning, and rebuild to come back to life.
30aadoodlebug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 06:57 AM   #2
tubman

Default Re: Pulling Engine on a 50 Coupe

I just had the engine in and out of my '51 club coupe. I pulled the engine/transmission together, and that worked fine. If you do, make sure you take out the clutch linkage, as it is bolted to the transmission. I have a length of chain with two metal tabs on it that go under the head bolts that I use for this. When bolting it on, bias it a bit towards the front so the front of the engine tilts up when you lift it. I don't remember exactly where I attached it, but it becomes apparent if you don't have it right; it's easy to let it back down and re-position. Of course, this is all moot if you have one of those handy-dandy leveler things.