Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2019, 07:52 PM   #1
clark51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 12
Question Yankee 730 signal wire gauge

I am installing signal lights on my 51 F1 truck that I am keeping 6 volt. All the wiring is 14 gauge to the lights but the Yankee signal switch is only 16 gauge wire. Should I solder in new 14 gauge wire into the switch or leave it as 16 gauge. Just wondering if this is a weak link in a 6 volt system. Has anyone done this?
clark51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 09:57 PM   #2
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 13,525
Default Re: Yankee 730 signal wire gauge

Ford was using 16 gauge on the tail lights but 14 gauge on the brake lights per the manual.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Complete_system.jpg (74.6 KB, 13 views)
JSeery is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-16-2019, 11:16 PM   #3
clark51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 12
Default Re: Yankee 730 signal wire gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
Ford was using 16 gauge on the tail lights but 14 gauge on the brake lights per the manual.
Thanks this answers my question.
clark51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:05 AM   #4
joe 1950
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Green Bay Wi
Posts: 224
Default Re: Yankee 730 signal wire gauge

that will be ok as is don’t take much to light a bulb but takes a lot to turn a starter
joe 1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.