Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2019, 12:25 PM   #1
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,073
Default Relocating condenser

Can't find it in archives, but I know it's there. I have a 39 engine in my 35 pickup. It is fitted with a crab distributer and has a 42-48 coil, mounted at intake manifold, I want to relocate the condenser from the crab distributer now located on the lower engine, up to the coil mounted on the intake to give me better access when accessing condenser. I cannot remember just how it is done in archives. Thanks in advance. Lawson
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 12:40 PM   #2
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: Relocating condenser

Lawson I’m thinking put the pigtail wire on the condenser on the coil post that’s going to the distributor and ground the condenser.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-16-2019, 12:53 PM   #3
oldford2
Senior Member
 
oldford2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pittsfield, MA
Posts: 1,938
Default Re: Relocating condenser

Here it is.
A good solėd ground on the condenser holder and connect the lead from the condenser to the coil terminal that heads down to the dizzy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg condenser.jpg (36.0 KB, 147 views)

Last edited by oldford2; 08-16-2019 at 07:42 PM.
oldford2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 03:20 PM   #4
42guy
Senior Member
 
42guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 269
Default Re: Relocating condenser

I have run my 42 for 16 years with the condenser mounted up at the coil. All you have to do is get a condenser with a little more mf. When I go to the garage, I will look up the part #.
It's used on 60's Mopar. Maybe John (oldford2) has it handy.
42guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 03:39 PM   #5
mfirth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ohio
Posts: 310
Default Re: Relocating condenser

Tubman may have a GR8 idea on this also ......very sharp on this stuf.
mfirth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:52 PM   #6
Lawrie
Senior Member
 
Lawrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Qld, Australia
Posts: 3,285
Default Re: Relocating condenser

Lawson, I use a Malory one mounted on a little bracket I made on the top front cam gear cover bolt just behind the dist,
Lawrie
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:57 PM   #7
42guy
Senior Member
 
42guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 269
Default Re: Relocating condenser

You will lose a couple mF due to the increased wire length. The Ford spec for 42 -48 is 0.25-0.32 mF. If you use a late 60's Mopar cond. which is rated 0.34, if will make up for the lose. You want a late 60's 318 cond. The Standard Blue Streak # is AL111X. I talked to Std. rep. and they said it runs 0.2-0.34 mF. And like I said, I have had same one for 15 yrs.
42guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 07:28 PM   #8
oldford2
Senior Member
 
oldford2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: pittsfield, MA
Posts: 1,938
Default Re: Relocating condenser

Quote:
Originally Posted by 42guy View Post
You will lose a couple mF due to the increased wire length. The Ford spec for 42 -48 is 0.25-0.32 mF. If you use a late 60's Mopar cond. which is rated 0.34, if will make up for the lose. You want a late 60's 318 cond. The Standard Blue Streak # is AL111X. I talked to Std. rep. and they said it runs 0.2-0.34 mF. And like I said, I have had same one for 15 yrs.
Well, I admit I don't understand mf. And will have to check which condenser I have now that has run perfectly for 8 years.
But when I first got my 46, 42guy (Richard) nursed me thru carb and dizzy problems. That is when I moved the condenser up to where it is easy to get to. 8000 miles on it and run every other day on short and long trips. He is a great guy with years of flathead racing and driving and hope to get up to visit him soon.
John
oldford2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 08:01 PM   #9
D. Jones
Senior Member
 
D. Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 446
Default Re: Relocating condenser

By moving the condenser from the distributor to the coil you have moved it to a cooler location (temperature wise) and at least for me they last much much longer. I was changing them sometimes after less than 100 miles and never more than a few hundred miles now they seem to last forever.

Just told the wife today I was going to pull the distributor and check the points just because I haven't looked at them in a couple of years.
D. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 09:55 PM   #10
Lawson Cox
Senior Member
 
Lawson Cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Above the gnat line in Georgia
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: Relocating condenser

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldford2 View Post
Here it is.
A good solėd ground on the condenser holder and connect the lead from the condenser to the coil terminal that heads down to the dizzy

Thanks. I was thinking that would be the way to do it but just wanted to be sure my 88 year old brain was thinking fairly straight.
__________________
Life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer to the end, the faster it goes.

It is better to be seen, than viewed.


"We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm".
Lawson Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 06:03 PM   #11
42guy
Senior Member
 
42guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York State
Posts: 269
Default Re: Relocating condenser

John (oldford2),
You have a right condenser. I gave you one when we first set you up. Thank you for the kind words.
Dick
42guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.