Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2018, 11:38 PM   #1
Racur96
Senior Member
 
Racur96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: lawrenceburg, tn
Posts: 114
Default Original ammeter or repop?

Hi everyone. Got a ammeter in the original ford box just curious if itís a original or repop unit .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F76AE822-F179-40AE-ABE0-339A4881296A.jpg (42.6 KB, 196 views)
File Type: jpg 8437BB51-59DD-4317-BC19-7FBC48521667.jpg (40.5 KB, 175 views)
Racur96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 12:25 AM   #2
RandyinUtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ogden Utah
Posts: 200
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Looks like a nos for a truck . I have one like it myself and was told it was used in trucks but not positive. Check the judging standard for sure.
RandyinUtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-17-2018, 03:18 AM   #3
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 13,923
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

I don't have the guidelines in front of me but I thing it's for a T.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 07:26 AM   #4
Mike Peters
Senior Member
 
Mike Peters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South East Wisconsin
Posts: 580
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

JS sez "bezel is nickel plated brass". Scratch the back of the bezel to see if it's brass. I have one just like yours and have always thought it was an original, but like stated above, not for cars. T??? Good question.
Mike Peters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 07:43 AM   #5
daren007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saint Cloud Mn
Posts: 415
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Open it up. The original should have a horseshoe round wire thing. If a re pop lay it on your driveway and run over it.
daren007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 07:57 AM   #6
MikeK
Senior Member
 
MikeK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windy City
Posts: 2,809
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Original late T. Will work in an A but you either have to reverse the wires or open it and flip the magnet over. The magnet is the large steel wire shaped like a giant C clip inside the case.
__________________
Mechanical engineering 101: If you put an adjustment knob, screw, bolt, or tolerance specs on something, some people will immediately fiddle with it. If you mark it DO NOT TOUCH everyone will mess with it.
MikeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 09:38 AM   #7
d.j. moordigian
Senior Member
 
d.j. moordigian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 3,544
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

That's an A...more than likely after the A's were produced. The bezel on the T's were
flat and didn't have the raised section on it..
d.j. moordigian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 09:46 AM   #8
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 4,696
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

post a picture of the box ----the design, printing can give clues to the era too
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 10:12 AM   #9
Jeff/Illinois
Senior Member
 
Jeff/Illinois's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,902
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daren007 View Post
Open it up. The original should have a horseshoe round wire thing. If a re pop lay it on your driveway and run over it.
I like that

Some time back I bought an original ammeter that the late Doc Kalinka had restored from a fellow in Missouri. What a difference between that and the 70's repop that was in the car. It's great!

There had been some talk about someone reproducing the ammeters to original factory specs. I think that would be a good move and well worth the extra money over the off shore junk that is offered today. I see a need for a good, A&L quality-type ammeter.
Jeff/Illinois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 10:15 AM   #10
P.S.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 1,483
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racur96 View Post
Hi everyone. Got a ammeter in the original ford box just curious if itís a original or repop unit .
Looking through the glass, as grainy as the photo is when zoomed in, appears to be repro. Need pic of inside to tell for sure.

Looking at the back in your photo, the insulator washers scream repro.
P.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 10:41 AM   #11
d.j. moordigian
Senior Member
 
d.j. moordigian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 3,544
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by P.S. View Post
Looking through the glass, as grainy as the photo is when zoomed in, appears to be repro. Need pic of inside to tell for sure.

Looking at the back in your photo, the insulator washers scream repro.
Look were the "20" is placed !...then look at a known repop..
d.j. moordigian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 11:54 AM   #12
Gary Karr
Senior Member
 
Gary Karr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 941
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

What you have is an NOS Ford replacement ammeter. It should work well for you. Simply remove the black painted bezel and have it nickel plated.
Gary Karr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 12:56 PM   #13
Russ/40
Senior Member
 
Russ/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santee, California
Posts: 2,870
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

I thought the "T" meter was larger than the "A".
Russ/40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 01:46 PM   #14
Bob C
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,341
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ/40 View Post
I thought the "T" meter was larger than the "A".

1926-27 used the small one.


Bob
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 12:27 AM   #15
Drive Shaft Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New hope Minnesota
Posts: 732
Default Re: Original ammeter or repop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Karr View Post
What you have is an NOS Ford replacement ammeter. It should work well for you. Simply remove the black painted bezel and have it nickel plated.
I bought one of those on flea bay a few years back, had the bezel nickle plated.
Drive Shaft Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.