Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2020, 05:08 PM   #1
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Choke/Throttle rods

Thanks in advance for all the help you folks have been.
I'm messing with the choke/throttle linkages. Some time back I redid the carb, 91-99. The c/t rods don't function much, It is like I have something wrong in my assembly. One rod is too long and the other too short. What gives, please?
Clem
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 06:16 PM   #2
30-9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 851
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Reverse them?
__________________
Thanks - 30-9
1939, 1940
30-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-01-2020, 06:26 PM   #3
drolston
Senior Member
 
drolston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

What year?
Rods or cables?
Stock intake manifold?
drolston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 06:40 PM   #4
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,231
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
Thanks in advance for all the help you folks have been.
I'm messing with the choke/throttle linkages. Some time back I redid the carb, 91-99. The c/t rods don't function much, It is like I have something wrong in my assembly. One rod is too long and the other too short. What gives, please?
Clem
Clem, you have them reversed.
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 08:59 PM   #5
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

39 Ford standard intake. I did not remove them from the dash holes
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 11:30 PM   #6
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

You guys got me to thinking. We let the truck sit for sometime when I first got it. I know the rods fit and worked at that time. I was still working. A fellow clubber came by and helped figure out what we had and to help get it going. I also got some spares with the truck. Somewhere in the process We found that I had a carb that fit his 40 Ford. He needed it so of course I gave it to him. Could that carb have been built differently? Also we noted that the rubber pivot on the C/T rods was welded in place. I have original rods now thanks to Fordbarn. I'm thinking to try and remove the rods are replace them with the original ones.
The carb on my truck is a 91-99
Thanks, Clem
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2020, 07:18 AM   #7
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,231
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
39 Ford standard intake. I did not remove them from the dash holes
Okay, I'll bite... WHAT YEAR vehicle? WHAT MODEL?
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2020, 08:44 AM   #8
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

39 Ford Pickup
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2020, 09:38 AM   #9
Kube
Senior Member
 
Kube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,231
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
39 Ford Pickup
Clem, If the rods fit at some point and they were never removed and possibly reinstalled improperly,well, that leaves only "option B".
What has changed since they worked?
A properly assembled 91-99 carburetor is correct for your truck.

Also, what do you mean by a "39 standard intake"?

Truck rods are very different than the passenger car rods.
__________________
"I can explain it for you. However, I can't understand it for you".
Kube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2020, 12:15 PM   #10
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Sorry for not being clear. I'm, still recovering and I so good, don't type
factory intake. 91-99 carb. I'll replace the C/T rods
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 04:36 PM   #11
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

I gave up. When we can visit I'll get help.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 07:48 PM   #12
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 14,805
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Hopefully it won't be too much longer, but us older guys have to be careful!
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2020, 09:34 PM   #13
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Maybe a photo or 2 would help shed some light on it?
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 10:05 PM   #14
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Worked in the rods again today. Bought a pair of rods from a Barner. The choke rod has a loop-de-loop to shorten it The Throttle is long as well. I have kept the originals in and made some improvements. the carb us a 91-99 the carb is raised 3/4" by the phenolic block. Wrong carb?
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 10:26 PM   #15
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 193
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

The phenolic spacer is probably the issue. When I added one on my '38 the rods protrude 3/8" - 1/2" into the cab past their previous position on the dash. I just put the same thickness rubber washer in behind the knobs so it looks clean and if I remove the phenolic spacer the rods will fit as they did before.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 10:17 AM   #16
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Thanks. Great idea. I can split vacuum hoses to cover the rods and be a stop for the push - in action.

Did the phenolic block help with vapor lock?
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 11:00 AM   #17
Will D
Senior Member
 
Will D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 193
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clem Clement View Post
Thanks. Great idea. I can split vacuum hoses to cover the rods and be a stop for the push - in action.

Did the phenolic block help with vapor lock?
I'm going to say yes but I think I had other issues as well which have since been resolved. Either way I left it on and have not vapor locked since the install.
Will D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 02:07 AM   #18
Clem Clement
Senior Member
 
Clem Clement's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2,933
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Thanks Barners. I am still recovering from heart procedures and am very slow. I took time off from car work during the hot summer. I am slowly starting again. Thanks for understanding.
I split 2 short pieces of vacuum hose and put them over the choke/throttle rods. Looks good in the cockpit.
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 03:31 PM   #19
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 14,805
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Heart surgery is always fun, I've had a quad-bypass.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2020, 03:39 PM   #20
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,350
Default Re: Choke/Throttle rods

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
Heart surgery is always fun, I've had a quad-bypass.
Oh yes, I had a six way last year and it takes a while to get back at it and itís still not a 100% , probably never will be
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.