Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2020, 02:21 PM   #1
Steve Seidl
Member
 
Steve Seidl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ham Lake,Minn
Posts: 91
Default Turn Signal Kit ?

Have a 33 Ford 6 volt in need of turn signals. Would like to put in a new kit. Any recommendations ? What about putting in a 12 volt kit ? Much appreciated !!
Steve Seidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 03:18 PM   #2
mfagan
Senior Member
 
mfagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kaufman, TX
Posts: 807
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

Just installed kit from Electric-Tek on a 36 Ford. Works on 6 or 12 volts. Easy install.

http://turnswitch.com/Turnsignal.htm

Give them a call, nice people.
__________________
Marvin Fagan
214-697-8430
mfagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 07-29-2020, 05:37 PM   #3
cadillac512
Senior Member
 
cadillac512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 197
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfagan View Post
Just installed kit from Electric-Tek on a 36 Ford. Works on 6 or 12 volts. Easy install.

http://turnswitch.com/Turnsignal.htm

Give them a call, nice people.

This is a VERY nice kit. ^^^^^^ Works flawlessly.



Terry
__________________
"It don't take but country smarts to solve the problem" (Smokey Yunick)
cadillac512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 06:51 PM   #4
Bursonaw
Senior Member
 
Bursonaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 263
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfagan View Post
Just installed kit from Electric-Tek on a 36 Ford. Works on 6 or 12 volts. Easy install.

http://turnswitch.com/Turnsignal.htm

Give them a call, nice people.

Iíve used an Electro-tec turn signal kit on two cars and it works great! They also built a radio up for my 36 Ford. Great products and nice people to work with!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Bursonaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 07:05 PM   #5
TJ
Senior Member
 
TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Napa,California
Posts: 4,583
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

The switch does not care if it's 6 or 12 volt. Most switches come with wiring diagrams. Buy a good switch. You can find the good ones on e-Bay for between $25-35. I would avoid the cheap ones. Kwik-wire or American Auto Wire also make toggle style turn switches that you can hide at the bottom of the dash if you don't want one on the steering column.
TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 08:51 PM   #6
Steve Seidl
Member
 
Steve Seidl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ham Lake,Minn
Posts: 91
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

Thanks all> Electric Tek way to go. !
Steve Seidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 08:52 PM   #7
Steve Seidl
Member
 
Steve Seidl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ham Lake,Minn
Posts: 91
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

Much Thanks, Marvin.
Steve Seidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:21 PM   #8
hotrodart
Senior Member
 
hotrodart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shenandoah Valley Virginia
Posts: 137
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

The wiring and fuse need to be matched for 6 volts (heavier gage)....the bulbs take 2X the anps as 12 volt bulbs.
hotrodart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:36 PM   #9
19Fordy
Senior Member
 
19Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coral Springs FL
Posts: 8,126
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

If anyone has installed one of the Electric Tek kits in a 40 ford, please chime in.
19Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:34 PM   #10
cadillac512
Senior Member
 
cadillac512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 197
Default Re: Turn Signal Kit ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Fordy View Post
If anyone has installed one of the Electric Tek kits in a 40 ford, please chime in.



If a '41 Merc counts then I'm your guy. Mine is 12v but the unit does not care either way. Neg or Pos grd either one is fine as well.



Terry
__________________
"It don't take but country smarts to solve the problem" (Smokey Yunick)
cadillac512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.