Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2013, 06:46 PM   #1
fomocoloco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default installing clutch on 36

when installing a clutch, is there a trick to adjusting the 3 fingers on the clutch?
fomocoloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
ken ct
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: stratford,ct
Posts: 5,971
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

Yea LEAVE THEM ALONE // They are set by the rebuilder. Contact "Fort Wayne Clutch " ford wayne ind. ken ct.
ken ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-07-2013, 07:02 PM   #3
ford3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: oroville calif.
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

Kens right, if its american made its pre adjusted, dont touch unless you want to pull trans and every thing again
ford3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:13 PM   #4
fomocoloco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

Please pardon my ignorance, but how do those 3 fingers, at 3 different heights, work?
fomocoloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:22 PM   #5
ken ct
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: stratford,ct
Posts: 5,971
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

There not supposed to be at diff hights.Poorly made clutch in my opinion. Ken ct.
ken ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:33 PM   #6
fomocoloco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

So, if I buy a clutch and the 3 fingers are at 3 different heights, what do I do?
fomocoloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:49 PM   #7
Hank the 36
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South of LA
Posts: 90
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

Good info for the future fomocoloco, can you take some pics and add to post.
__________________

Thank you,
H36
Hank the 36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:50 PM   #8
ford3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: oroville calif.
Posts: 1,453
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

quick answer, send it back, you already have a major problem, one that you probably cant correct, if you dont have experience adjusting them chances are you will never get it right, i repeat, send it back and buy one that is american made or rebuilt, same with clutches, if foriegn made its probably to thick and will never work right

Last edited by ford3; 04-07-2013 at 08:09 PM.
ford3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:05 PM   #9
fomocoloco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 150
Default Re: installing clutch on 36

Thank you all for the advice. I'll order from Ft. Wayne.
fomocoloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.