Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-29-2020, 12:07 PM   #1
Ordsgt

Default Brake kit

I am new to model As and have a 1930 Tudor. I am redoing the brakes with new hubs, bearings and drums. Is it worth the cost and labor to put in the " Flathead Ted" brake kit?

Thanks
Ordsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 08:28 PM   #2
vernlee

Default Re: Brake kit

Probably
vernlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 09:11 PM   #3
California Travieso

Send a message via Yahoo to California Travieso

People in previous threads have suggested that it is wise to try them on the front brakes first.

David Serrano
California Travieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 07:04 AM   #4
nkaminar

If you look at the video that Ted made of his car doing a full lock stop you will see three versions. The first two show the rear wheels only locking up while the last one shows all four locking up. Although there is no comment in the video, it appears that, for the last test, the rear brakes are backed off to allow more braking on the front.

The article I read from Model A Times said to leave the rear rods off at first to test the front brakes only. Most of the stopping comes from the front brakes as momentum will put more vertical downward force on the front tires.

I have new brakes on the car I just bought and have received the kit. I am planning on installing them today and will report back to the group when I get a chance to drive the car (after the rain quits). All that I have read says that the brakes must be in as new condition before installing the kit.

Here are some references:

http://www.ocmafc.com/techarticles/BrakeFloaters.pdf
http://www.ocmafc.com/techarticles/BrakeFloaters-2.pdf
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.