Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2019, 08:41 AM   #1
Tinbasher
Senior Member
 
Tinbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Innisfil, Ontario Canada
Posts: 962
Cool Push Button Turn Signals

Is anyone using the push button turnsignal kit from Bratton's? How difficult is it to install? Is it strickly a plug and play setup or do you have to do alot of modifing to make it work. They sell it in 6 and 12 volts. Does the 6 volt setup work well with the LEDS with a stock generator? Does it come with a cloth loom for the wires or are they loose?

Thanks JP
Tinbasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 12:27 PM   #2
1931 flamingo
Senior Member
 
1931 flamingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: new britain,ct 06052
Posts: 8,134
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Your best bet, unless you do get a response here, is to give Walt a phone call....................


Paul in CT
1931 flamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-23-2019, 02:42 PM   #3
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

https://www.brattons.com/catalogsear...n+turn+signals

No modification, just straight add-on. Looks like about 50' coil of loose wire provided. I'd recommend cowl wire supports inside and extra frame clips underneath. Run the wires behind the kick panel(s) and through the gap between the front floorboard and frame to each corner light. You could wrap the wires with friction tape where they might get pinched, like under a clip. They're designed for 6/12V, +/- ground, and the LEDs won't bother your 6V generator much.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 02:51 PM   #4
Tacoma Bob
Senior Member
 
Tacoma Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 790
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

If they are the turns signals from Logo I have had them for quite some time. Pretty easy install. The only problem for me is where the suggested mounting is. There is a strong magnet on the backside of the control box where the push buttons are located. They suggest mounting to the gas tank just under the dash rail. It's pain to fumble around getting my arm between the steering wheel and the door panel to operate the thing. I called Logo Lites to ask if they sell an extension as I would prefer to mount it up on the header panel. They said nobody had ever requested such a thing. My plan is to get the correct gauge wire and build my own extension. Other than that they are a great product.
Tacoma Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 03:23 PM   #5
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

http://www.logolites.com/wp-content/.../100-0005q.pdf
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 07:20 PM   #6
aermotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 723
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Good turn signals with easy installation, only problem is that nothing can be added like a rear window Brakelighter kit. I was told by Logo Lights that the controller is maxed out and nothing can be added.

John
aermotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 08:59 AM   #7
Tinbasher
Senior Member
 
Tinbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Innisfil, Ontario Canada
Posts: 962
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Thanks Guys. I checked there web-site. Looks like the way to go. JP
Tinbasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 10:45 AM   #8
Jim Brierley
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 2,901
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

re: 3rd stop light. Add a separate wire from the stop light switch directly to the added light, thus bypassing the T.S. switch.
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:29 AM   #9
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Brierley View Post
re: 3rd stop light. Add a separate wire from the stop light switch directly to the added light, thus bypassing the T.S. switch.
Nope.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 02:34 PM   #10
California Travieso
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 603
Send a message via Yahoo to California Travieso
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badpuppy View Post
Nope.
Why?


David Serrano
California Travieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 06:55 PM   #11
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by California Travieso View Post
Why?


David Serrano
Sorry, my bad. I misread as including turn signals. Yes, it will work as only a brake light, connectiing both sides through the brake switch.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 06:44 AM   #12
flathead1150
Junior Member
 
flathead1150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Shelton
Posts: 23
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

If its the Logo Lites, I installed them on my 30 Coupe and on my 30 closed cab pickup. Also installed the units on other Model As. They are easy to install work with either 12/6 volts. I have no issues with 8 years use.
flathead1150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 06:47 AM   #13
Tinbasher
Senior Member
 
Tinbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Innisfil, Ontario Canada
Posts: 962
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Excellent. Looks like the way to go instead of building a system myself. I like the little push button setup. To bad they don't use cloth covered wire and cloth loom.

JP
Tinbasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 08:03 AM   #14
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinbasher View Post
Excellent. Looks like the way to go instead of building a system myself. I like the little push button setup. To bad they don't use cloth covered wire and cloth loom.

JP
Vendors sell the bulk wire and loom, but it can be a challenge to pull wire through the loom for any great length.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 04:15 PM   #15
msmaron
Senior Member
 
msmaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 3,488
Send a message via AIM to msmaron
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Turnswitch.com
__________________
Mark Maron
Ill., Region MARC & MAFCA
27A's, MARC JSC Member
MARC Dearborn 2019 Meet Chairman
National Facebook Admin.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/MARC.group/

A7191-Sport Coupe
29 Roadster
29-Town Sedan
msmaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 04:28 PM   #16
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 479
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

http://www.turnswitch.com/Turnsignal.htm

Probably the best one out there, I'd say.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 06:12 PM   #17
slammin
Senior Member
 
slammin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Fruita, CO
Posts: 279
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

I installed the LogoLites turn signal kit on my 29 Fordor. I ordered the cloth wire loom from Brattons and ran all the wiring thru that. I feel it gives it a more original look. I also used the included black wire for the left side and a blue wire for all the right side, to make it easier in the event I have to trouble shoot the system. The lights are nice and bright (6 volt system). The push button control does take a little time to get used to.
slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 12:16 PM   #18
alexiskai
Senior Member
 
alexiskai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mebane NC
Posts: 266
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

The LogoLites are a good choice for someone who wants a turn-key solution, everything included. The kit from Turnswitch.com assumes you're supplying the bulb and fixture yourself. I also like the design of the LogoLites signals and the fact that they position the lights close to where oncoming drivers will expect to see them. The lights will also be visible to drivers on the cross-street, which is not always the case for turn solutions that incorporate signals inside the headlamps.

I agree with Tacoma Bob that it's a pain for taller folks to get your arm around the wheel to operate the switch in the location they suggest. Turnswitch's steering column mounted toggle might be preferable there.

One thing the toggle does not do, which LogoLites does do, is hazard lights. I was really happy to have the hazard lights when my coupe broke down where the shoulder was narrow and I couldn't get fully off the road as I stopped.
alexiskai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 02:39 PM   #19
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 265
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

According to Turnswitch.com web site it does have hazard lights.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 02:46 PM   #20
30ccpickup
Senior Member
 
30ccpickup's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wakarusa, IN
Posts: 827
Default Re: Push Button Turn Signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoma Bob View Post
If they are the turns signals from Logo I have had them for quite some time. Pretty easy install. The only problem for me is where the suggested mounting is. There is a strong magnet on the backside of the control box where the push buttons are located. They suggest mounting to the gas tank just under the dash rail. It's pain to fumble around getting my arm between the steering wheel and the door panel to operate the thing. I called Logo Lites to ask if they sell an extension as I would prefer to mount it up on the header panel. They said nobody had ever requested such a thing. My plan is to get the correct gauge wire and build my own extension. Other than that they are a great product.
Agree!! Real tight to get too on a truck.
__________________
http://MODELABASICS.com/ How Things Work on a Model "A" Ford

Fordbarners, Feel free to use the pictures on my site to answer questions and create tutorials/tech articles.
30ccpickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.