Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2018, 08:37 AM   #1
davidGR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 27
Default What horn size?

Hey guys my Model A didnít come with a horn

Iím looking at a 13in Sparton rebuild on eBay, but is that to long?

Your guys thoughts, anyone have pictures of a 13in sparton on your A?

Thanks
David


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
davidGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 08:44 AM   #2
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 1,832
Default Re: What horn size?

just put down the Ebay item number. and someone here will tell you if is correct or not.
jw hash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-13-2018, 09:12 AM   #3
davidGR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 27
Default Re: What horn size?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/9-Original-...d884%7Ciid%3A1
davidGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 09:15 AM   #4
John
Senior Member
 
John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 110
Default Re: What horn size?

Not a correct Model A horn.
John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 09:21 AM   #5
rocket1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland Park,N.J.
Posts: 705
Default Re: What horn size?

Brattons sells a repro horn for $275. to $285. they can still be found in the flea markets for less but might need work.
rocket1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 11:05 AM   #6
Big hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 1,799
Default Re: What horn size?

Ebay is jumpy for me, but the motor looks ok and the motor cover. You could replace the bell with repop one or a used one!
__________________
Don't force it with a little hammer tap, tap, tap
get a bigger hammer tap done
Big hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 12:45 PM   #7
frank55a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 572
Default Re: What horn size?

What I have seen good "A" horns will generally run around $150 to $200 at most swap meets. There have been some advertised here on the swap meet page. The cover, bell and wire connections are not correct on the e-bay horn. By the time you would purchase that horn, buy the correct parts and pay for shipping, not to mention the work, I think you would have more $$s into it than it would cost to buy an original correct horn.
frank55a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 03:18 PM   #8
Kurt in NJ
Senior Member
 
Kurt in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: on the Littlefield
Posts: 4,374
Default Re: What horn size?

But if you keep looking you can find one cheaper, or in pieces, I bought enough to make a horn at Hershey for less than30$
Kurt in NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 03:35 PM   #9
1955cj5
Senior Member
 
1955cj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,389
Default Re: What horn size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidGR View Post
Hey guys my Model A didn’t come with a horn

I’m looking at a 13in Sparton rebuild on eBay, but is that to long?

Your guys thoughts, anyone have pictures of a 13in sparton on your A?

Thanks
David


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The original rebuilt Sparton that I have is about 9 7/8" long, end to end.

I had one of the longer style horns before. Similar to the one you referenced but was a North East Electric brand. It worked fine but used a eyelet type connector instead of the bullet type that the original uses, so you would have to make an adapter or modify your wiring harness.

You would also need a mounting bracket for the Model A, here is an example:

https://www.brattons.com/28-30-horn-bracket.html


This is a picture of the longer North East horn mounted on my '29 pickup.

If you just need a horn there is no reason why that ebay horn wouldn't work for you if it functions correctly, even though it's not an original style..It took me a couple of years to find the correct horn for my ccpu.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2015_0814modelajeep1266.jpg (80.7 KB, 39 views)
__________________
Early '29 CCPU that had a 4-speed, but not any more.......in the family since '62
1955cj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 08:21 PM   #10
rogerkb1936
Senior Member
 
rogerkb1936's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 563
Default Re: What horn size?

mine is a little less that 10". horn that is
rogerkb1936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 09:02 AM   #11
SSsssteamer
Senior Member
 
SSsssteamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sedro-Woolley, WA
Posts: 858
Default Re: What horn size?

The eBay is all wrong for the Model A Ford. Not mentioned yet is that the electrical terminal studs on the eBay horn are on the outside of the horn, where as the bullet connector terminals on the model A horn are located on the inside the back horn cover. Yes, the eBay horn is longer too, and most likely, the pattern for the screws that hold the horn bracket are too far apart for the model A bracket too.
SSsssteamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 11:52 AM   #12
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 227
Default Re: What horn size?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/ALL-ORIGINA...el+a+horn.TRS0

Thats the what you should be looking for if you want the correct style horn for your car. Not sure if the one in the link is a good price or not, for $100 more than that you can get a brand new one from brattons with the bracket already attached.

Last edited by ryanheacox; 08-14-2018 at 11:53 AM. Reason: Add info
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 02:39 PM   #13
Sparky
Senior Member
 
Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 583
Default Re: What horn size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big hammer View Post
Ebay is jumpy for me, but the motor looks ok and the motor cover. You could replace the bell with repop one or a used one!
It's not guaranteed that a Model A bell will fit. When I rebuilt my Sparton model AU horn (the Model A version is a Sparton AF) I ordered new bell gaskets thinking they were the same size. I found out that the flange on the AU is slightly larger diameter than the AF, so the gasket did not fit (and a Model A style bell wouldn't have fit either.)

Here is a link to my horn:
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=247851
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 09:02 AM   #14
JohnLaVoy
Senior Member
 
JohnLaVoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 777
Default Re: What horn size?

The reproduction horns are made by A&L and are excellent. They are correct in all details and the motors are superior to the original. You would be happy with one of those.
JohnLaVoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.