Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 07-26-2010, 12:15 AM   #1
Art Bjornestad

Default How I learned to drive an A

In 1946 at age 12 I worked as a line boy at Half Day Airport in Illinois. On weekends I drove a Model A roadster pickup down the grass landing strip and another boy ran a large Pierce Arrow engine/winch combination which was bolted to the bed.

A long steel cable was attached to a sail plane and with the forward speed of the A and the winch gathering up the cable we soon had the sail plane high up in the air. The pilot would drop the cable and both of us on the ground had to drive back to get ready to launch the next one.

It's been years but I still remember watching the gas gauge sloshing around and grabbing second gear.
Art Bjornestad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 07:13 AM   #2
Gary/IA

Default Re: How I learned to drive an A

Dad let my older brother (age 9) drive himself and my sister to country school in the Model A.

Near miss with another car resulted in my brother going into the ditch, no one hurt.

As a result: Car not injured, Sheriff called, Dad fined $100, brother and sister walked the two miles to school from then on.

All I got to do was ride in the A but good memories of it.
Gary/IA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:42 PM   #3
Dan Baron

Default Re: How I learned to drive an A